Toll Free 866-SHIP-SDM (866-744-7736) Mention service code 16GZ-Q1Y0 Hours

    Epiphone SG Special Electric Guitar

    Web Item #EPISGSPCL

    $179

     

    You Have Selected:

    New, Black
    In Stock | Will Ship Mon
    •  
    • 2 Day: $12
    • Overnight: $42
    SpeedPlay: on orders of
    $249
    $179 Seen a lower price?
    New, Cherry
    Order Now | Expected Soon
    •  
    • 2 Day: $12
    • Overnight: $42
    SpeedPlay: on orders of
    $249
    $179 Seen a lower price?

    Overall User Ratings

    Overall:
    *********.* 9.3 out of 10
    Quality:
    ********** 8.7 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    *********.* 9.1 out of 10
    Ease of Use:
    ********.** 8.4 out of 10
    Features:
    ********.** 8.1 out of 10
    Value:
    *********.* 9.4 out of 10
    Sound:
    ********** 8.8 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    ********** 8.7 out of 10

     

    User Reviews for Epiphone SG Special Electric Guitar


    Overall:
    **********10 out of 10
    Features:
    **********9 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********10 out of 10
    Value:
    **********10 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********10 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********9 out of 10

    100% of users found this reviews helpful (2 votes).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.
    By a customer from yahoo.com

    Submitted: 10/10/2003

    Style of Music: Classical, Beatles, rock and touch of Metal

    Epiphone SG Special Electric Guitar Customer Review

    Sound:
    It plays great sounds. I play a mixture of classical and beatles and finger pick. A tad bit of metal and rock. It has a dark sound to it if set that way and a bright sound as well. ....... If your Amp is of poor quality then the any guitar will sound poor. I use a Crate GFX 30 Amp and it sounds very good. Get al the sounds I need of this Beast.
    Feature:
    Really wish it had a pick guard, other than that is is a fine piece of craftsmanship.
    Quality:
    It looks like " One Sexy Beast ". feels good sounds great. had a Warlock but love this one better. No problems with controls. Seems to be durable and quality made. I would buy it again if I had to.
    Manufacturer Support:
    never broke down so no need for support. I also take care of my stuff.
    Value:
    Very much worth its price. I would buy it again if I had too.
    The Wow Factor:
    It is fine quality, I want it so I bought it and if it came down to it I would buy " The Sexy Beast " again.
    Overall:
    i believe it will be handed down to my children.
    Overall:
    **********10 out of 10
    Features:
    **********9 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********9 out of 10
    Value:
    **********10 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********10 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********10 out of 10
    Ease of Use:
    **********10 out of 10

    100% of users found this reviews helpful (2 votes).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.

    Submitted: 8/3/2006

    "amazing!!!"

    Sound:
    just need some better pickups but its as good as it is. has a really nice sound with a good marshall amp
    Feature:
    not much really but uses its features to the limit it just needs a pickguard and new pickups preferablly gold ones
    Ease of Use:
    pretty good for begginers and intermediates recommended!! A+++++++
    Quality:
    mine has a little crack where the neck and body connect but its no big deal its not really that noticeable but everything else is perfect just needs regular cleaning
    Value:
    this is worth its price looks exactly like the $1000+ gibson except without the pickguard thats why im ordering one
    Overall:
    till death do us part
    Overall:
    **********9 out of 10
    Features:
    **********10 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********7 out of 10
    Value:
    **********10 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********10 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********10 out of 10
    Ease of Use:
    **********6 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    **********10 out of 10

    100% of users found this reviews helpful (1 vote).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.
    By a customer from hotmail.co.uk

    Submitted: 2/21/2006

    Style of Music: rock

    Experience: active musician

    "Epiphone Beast"

    Sound:
    Sounds amazing
    Feature:
    the trebble rythm switch really makes a difference. especially with solos
    Ease of Use:
    it's easy to use, yes. but my 'G' string will not stay in tune, i've replaced it loads.
    Quality:
    i've had two of these. the first i had to take back cos it was literally falling apart. but the second is fine
    Manufacturer Support:
    i took back my first and it was replaced the same time
    Value:
    the cheapest sg around. and you can technically say you own a Gibson being as they are sister companies :P
    The Wow Factor:
    i saw it in the shop about 3 months before i bought it. as soon as i saw it i knew it was the guitar for me
    Overall:
    after the little fiasco with the first one i had all was well.
    Overall:
    **********10 out of 10
    Features:
    **********6 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********10 out of 10
    Value:
    **********10 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********10 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********9 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    **********8 out of 10

    100% of users found this reviews helpful (1 vote).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.
    By a customer from aol.com

    Submitted: 12/18/2003

    Style of Music: All

    "SG... *drool*"

    Sound:
    It has a very nice sound, as long as you have the right amp.
    Feature:
    This model doesn't have as much features as the others, but it makes full use of what it does have.
    Quality:
    The guitar just doesn't break. Well, if it's made well enough. It actually lasts a very long time, and surprisingly, so do the strings you put on it.
    Manufacturer Support:
    The company was very friendly and helpful.
    Value:
    Let's look at it this way... it's an SG. It's Gibson. It comes in lots of colors. It's only $150. What do you think?!?!
    The Wow Factor:
    ^-^
    Overall:
    I LOVE THESE GUITARS!!!!!!
    Overall:
    **********9 out of 10
    Features:
    **********8 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********9 out of 10
    Value:
    **********10 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********10 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********9 out of 10
    Ease of Use:
    **********8 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    **********8 out of 10

    75% of users found this reviews helpful (4 votes).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.
    By DAVID WEST AT BRESNAN .COM

    Submitted: 4/11/2007

    Style of Music: ROCK

    Experience: ACTIVE MUSICIAN

    "the best performance guitar out there,if you like big mean beefy sounding overdrive chunky,crunching old fashion rock thick tone"

    Sound:
    i own a california copy,but what does this have to do with the epiphone model.the california model seems to be preety good for what it is.whoever owned it before me installed what it looks like some kind of aftermarket pickups,because when i first recorded it,it really barks out better than my $300.00 guitar.for that matter it sounds better than any of my other guitars.get the white color,it really looks good.the pickups sound like lowend gibsons.the bridge pickup sounds better than the detonator pup i have in a squire strat.
    Feature:
    i am preety impressed with the sg design,it takes a little getting used to since i was a strat. player,but it does not take long. it feels like a real guitar in your hands,and not a lightweight toy like my strats. do.thicker neck than what i am used to,kinda like a greg bennett malibu strat.,it needs better tuners.
    Manufacturer Support:
    never had to deal with epi before.i had a p90 junior years beforeand it was a nice sounding little hot rod guitar.this guitar sounds like it has p90;s init too,but they look like humbuckers.
    Value:
    epiphone is the best deal,i have always loved gibsons and epi's.the backbone of rhythm guitars and lead tones.
    The Wow Factor:
    i am a sg convert for now on.god told me sg's are the best.
    Overall:
    the only thing i found wrong was the weak tuners.loose like my johnson strat.
    Overall:
    **********8 out of 10
    Features:
    **********7 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********8 out of 10
    Value:
    **********9 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********6 out of 10
    Ease of Use:
    **********8 out of 10

    75% of users found this reviews helpful (4 votes).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.
    By a customer from yahoo.com

    Submitted: 11/26/2007

    Style of Music: Anything driving

    Experience: Silence destroyer.

    "Potential to give you much more than what you paid for..."

    Sound:
    Oh boy, well the sound is "okay" to say the least. However, that's only the distortion. The distortion is surprisingly flat and kinda thin. I can definitely start to positively comment on this guitar when it comes to playing clean. When you hit the clean channel on your amp...well, it's the best thing since sliced bread, really. The sound is so smooth and richly pronounced that you could get away saying you took out a second mortgage on your house to wield this axe. A++ Oh yeah, the neck pickups are all-around no bueno. Just work the bridge on this thing.
    Feature:
    As anyone who has actually played this guitar will tell you, the tuning machines on this guitar BLOW. They wouldn't stay in tune to save the world and they tend to break easily. Also,
    Ease of Use:
    The neck is silky and fast. It fits in the palm of your hand almost like it chose you. Pick one up and see for yourself, that is, if you can find one.
    Quality:
    Tuning machines aside, this is an amazingly constructed shred machine for it's price range. It is a steal in any way you slice it. With the money you save on this bad boy, you can afford to gradually upgrade it and really bring out the beast!
    Value:
    Hands down, the best SG you can get from the Epiphone/Gibson line in it's price range.
    Overall:
    This is THE upgrade guitar. I did give this guitar so-so ratings, but I wanted to make sure that you could understand the pros and cons of this SG when it's a virgin from the box. Note: In the past 3 years I've owned this guitar, I have replaced the tuning machines with ESP brand tuners (holding up nicely!), and a limited edition bright red Seymour Duncan SH-6 Distortion pickup in the bridge.
    Overall:
    **********8 out of 10
    Features:
    **********5 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********8 out of 10
    Value:
    **********10 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********9 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********8 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    **********5 out of 10

    100% of users found this reviews helpful (1 vote).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.
    By a customer from hotmail.com

    Submitted: 10/25/2004

    Style of Music: Punk

    Experience: active musician

    "Asome 1rst or 2nd Guitar!!!!!!"

    Sound:
    This quitar sound is a typical SG sound . that smooth awwwwwwwwwwww. it is so awsome.
    Feature:
    it really didnt have features except for the usual
    Quality:
    thsi is a very good first or second quitar. it is made well . this guitar is very reliable
    Manufacturer Support:
    never called the company b/c nothing has ever happened to it
    Value:
    thsi product is worth every penny that i payed
    The Wow Factor:
    for the price that it is at it has alot of "I Want It" value
    Overall:
    i will wear this guitar out untill it doesnt play anymore. i love this guitar
    Overall:
    **********9 out of 10
    Features:
    **********7 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********9 out of 10
    Value:
    **********10 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********7 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********8 out of 10
    Ease of Use:
    **********10 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    **********9 out of 10

    100% of users found this reviews helpful (1 vote).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.
    By a customer from hotmail.co.uk

    Submitted: 4/15/2006

    Style of Music: emo, indie, FALL OUT BOY!

    Experience: lead guitarist

    "Who knew quality comes cheap as chips!"

    Quality:
    Sounds great for a cheap price
    Value:
    Great and very cheap! I bought it for
    Overall:
    **********8 out of 10
    Features:
    **********5 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********6 out of 10
    Value:
    **********7 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********8 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********10 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    **********10 out of 10

    100% of users found this reviews helpful (1 vote).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.
    By a customer from yahoo.com

    Submitted: 12/5/2004

    Style of Music: Everything except blues.

    "Epiphone SG Special review by the best."

    Sound:
    The sound is pretty good, i play it at the store at the time but its not good enough to buy.
    Feature:
    What features? There's no pic guard and only two nobs, so u cant really change the sound of it much.
    Quality:
    I'd say its good design, everything on it is pretty good quality, definately not the best, but it stil has like its own personality. My friend owned this and one day we were playing in the garage and his strap broke, the guitar fell on the floor and just broke, totally smashed.
    Manufacturer Support:
    Best brand support ive ever seen, just call them if u have the number and they'll usually help you.
    Value:
    If it were maybe $150, then the price would be good, but i think 200 is just a bit too much.
    The Wow Factor:
    It looks great, and everyone thinks so, ive heard good things about it and its made by Gibson, so i want it.
    Overall:
    It's good and everything but it is also bad in ways, i still havent decided if this is a good or bad guitar.
    Overall:
    **********4 out of 10
    Features:
    **********2 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********7 out of 10
    Value:
    **********3 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********8 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********6 out of 10

    33% of users found this reviews helpful (6 votes).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.

    Submitted: 6/30/2004

    Style of Music: everything

    "not worth it."

    Sound:
    this guitar isn't very good. I have found that the quality is very cheap. Basically you get less what you pay for and would recommend a cheap Ibanez or Squier guitar. The neck on this is very delicate and alot of parta on the guitar breaks easely.
    Feature:
    NONE
    Quality:
    The product is made well and looks nice but is not very durable.
    Manufacturer Support:
    N/A
    Value:
    I would prefer a different guitar
    The Wow Factor:
    Good.
    Overall:
    Dont get this.
    Overall:
    **********9 out of 10
    Features:
    **********8 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********7 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********8 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********8 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    **********10 out of 10

    50% of users found this reviews helpful (2 votes).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.
    By a customer from hotmail.com

    Submitted: 12/2/2004

    Style of Music: rock/ac/dc

    Experience: playing all day long every day

    Epiphone SG Special Electric Guitar Customer Review

    Sound:
    the sound is alrigt
    Feature:
    i like the way it looks and the neck
    Quality:
    its alright qualty its a good guitar for whaT u pay for it
    Manufacturer Support:
    its a good guitar 4 aNY one .sg's r my fav. guitar
    Value:
    i dunno
    Overall:
    i like this guitar but i think the nobs could have been letter better and they sould of put the pick gards on
    Overall:
    **********9 out of 10
    Features:
    **********8 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********10 out of 10
    Value:
    **********9 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********8 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********8 out of 10

    100% of users found this reviews helpful (1 vote).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.

    Submitted: 6/7/2004

    "epiphone sg special"

    Sound:
    good quality sound, has nice byte
    Feature:
    simple controls make it easy to change your sound
    Recently Viewed:
    Your Interests:
    See Products That Ship to You
    Viewing products that ship to United States
     

    Copyright ©2014. This site is protected by copyright. There are terms for its use. Send us Feedback on our site and your experiences. Our descriptions, pictures, and prices are mostly accurate, but cannot be guaranteed. Cookies should be enabled in your web browser for full site functionality (details).