Toll Free 866-SHIP-SDM (866-744-7736) Mention service code 1573-W7M3 Hours

    Fostex MR8HD 8-Track Hard Disk Recorder

    Web Item #FOSMR8HD

    This product can only be ordered by phone. Please call us at 866-SHIP-SDM (866-744-7736).

    Overall User Ratings

    Overall:
    ********** 8.7 out of 10
    Quality:
    ********** 8 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    ********.** 8.1 out of 10
    Ease of Use:
    *********.* 9.3 out of 10
    Features:
    *******.*** 7.2 out of 10
    Value:
    ********** 8.7 out of 10
    Sound:
    ********.** 8.4 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    ********** 8 out of 10

     

    User Reviews for Fostex MR8HD 8-Track Hard Disk Recorder


    Overall:
    **********8 out of 10
    Features:
    **********5 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********9 out of 10
    Value:
    **********10 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********9 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********9 out of 10
    Ease of Use:
    **********9 out of 10

    100% of users found this reviews helpful (2 votes).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.
    By a customer from bellsouth.net

    Submitted: 8/4/2007

    Style of Music: Voice, Audio Theater

    Experience: Hobbyist/Recording Engineer

    "Great sound recording for the money."

    Sound:
    CD quality sound....Its good enough for my use.
    Feature:
    No USB cable or software. But it did come with a user manual.
    Ease of Use:
    Great sound from this product. I cant find a version of Wave Manager that runs on Windows Vista.
    Quality:
    I would only give 10 if it came with gold screws.
    Manufacturer Support:
    Never used it.
    Value:
    You get a good multi track recorder for the money.
    The Wow Factor:
    It looks good for what it is.Plentey of buttons and lights.
    Overall:
    I like the ease of use, the CD quality of the sound. It works great, small and light to transport around, just dont bump it too hard, hard drive in it you know. While it works I wont be looking to upgrade anytime soon, unless I get rich and famous (I dont think so).
    Overall:
    **********9 out of 10
    Features:
    **********7 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********8 out of 10
    Value:
    **********9 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********9 out of 10

    100% of users found this reviews helpful (1 vote).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.
    By a customer from eukay.com

    Submitted: 9/30/2005

    Style of Music: blues, rock, jazz

    Experience: former pro musiscian

    "MR-8HD damn good thing."

    Sound:
    Sound is very round and full of expression. Low noise levels. With this thing you can definately make professional recordings at home / semi pro studio. Stunning are the very low noise levels. Channel separation of amps is a bit less spectacular but absolute sufficient for making hiqual recs. High end product for a low price.
    Feature:
    Standard is delivered an AC lead , more you dont need :-)
    Quality:
    Feels and looks are good, faders feel good, pots feel good, big selector works fine.
    Manufacturer Support:
    still didnt need support, Fostex info is sufficient :-)
    Value:
    This thing to me is worth at least 4 times its price....
    The Wow Factor:
    The thing in a way reminds me of an Akai casette deck i once owned early 80's. I was very satisfied then with that casette deck. In some way this MR-8HD has the same strange atraction to me. ( i know, i know, in a minute they bring me back to the madhouse :-))
    Overall:
    Ill be satisfied with the MR-8HD till the hd stops spinning.
    Overall:
    **********8 out of 10
    Features:
    **********7 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********8 out of 10
    Value:
    **********9 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********10 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********8 out of 10
    Ease of Use:
    **********10 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    **********9 out of 10

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.

    Submitted: 6/19/2006

    Style of Music: Anything

    Experience: Active Musician (drummer in band)

    "The King of Cheap Recorders"

    Sound:
    Sounds awesome for the price. The simulated amp is pretty basic but sounds just like a real amp. Very impressed with the sound quality, worth the price.
    Feature:
    Very few features, but that's what makes it so cheap. I use my computer for most of the editing, but you could get a mixer as well. However, the most important features that make this little machine so great are the four track simultanous recording capability, the simulated amp, and the massive 40GB hard drive. It holds something like 140 hours of music, but you can only save 99 songs, so you'll never run out of space.
    Ease of Use:
    I figured out most of the features in about half an hour or less. Really simple, just read the manual. It even guides you through a practice recording and playback.
    Quality:
    Everything works fine, I haven't had it for long so I don't know of any potential wear and tear problems. It just has a cheap silvery coating like you would find on other cheap electronics and it'll probably get scratched up really easily. The hard
    Manufacturer Support:
    My comments on support are based solely on the manual, which I used once for troubleshooting. It helped me out right away. I've also heard that Fostex has good customer support, though I can't say so firsthand.
    Value:
    This machine is great because it can record 8 tracks (4 simultaneously) for the same price as most 4 track recorders which can only record two tracks simultaneously.
    The Wow Factor:
    If you want a cheap recorder, this is the king of cheap recorders, as my title implies :)
    Overall:
    Great sound. Great value. Great fun. This will tide me over for now until I get myself a 24 track studio.
    Overall:
    **********9 out of 10
    Features:
    **********6 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********9 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********9 out of 10
    Ease of Use:
    **********8 out of 10

    100% of users found this reviews helpful (1 vote).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.

    Submitted: 5/25/2006

    Fostex MR8HD 8-Track Hard Disk Recorder Customer Review

    This reviewer purchased this item from Same Day Music.

    Sound:
    I was very impressed by this product. I use to to work on new material and don't have to worry about losing what I've created. Sound playback is excellent. I use a SM57 for my acoustic guitar and a MXL 990 condensor mic (not great mic, but very decent) for my vocals. Good value for the money.
    Ease of Use:
    I hate manuals but it's necessary to read this one to really use the machine. It reads easily.
    Overall:
    **********7 out of 10
    Features:
    **********7 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********7 out of 10
    Value:
    **********8 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********7 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********7 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    **********7 out of 10

    100% of users found this reviews helpful (1 vote).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.
    By a customer from yahoo.com

    Submitted: 1/1/2006

    Experience: Recording Engineer

    "Update to "harmonic distortion" review"

    This reviewer purchased this item from Same Day Music.

    Sound:
    An update to the previous review on harmonic distortion, the high levels only appear on main stereo L/R outs and headphones when the main L/R levels peaks exceed -12 dB, a much lower level than expected (otherwise can be annoying when monitoring a live concert!!!) The measured levels in the recorded wavefiles do meet the 0.06% spec in the O/M (channel level peaks must not exceed -6dB on a channel level meter)
    Overall:
    **********9 out of 10
    Features:
    **********10 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********10 out of 10
    Value:
    **********10 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********10 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********9 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    **********10 out of 10

    50% of users found this reviews helpful (2 votes).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.
    By a customer from bellsouth.net

    Submitted: 12/26/2005

    Style of Music: Contemporary Christian

    Experience: Active amateur musician/hobbyist

    "Great deal - delivers exactly as advertised."

    This reviewer purchased this item from Same Day Music.

    Sound:
    Good sound quality. This is my first recorder - more experienced in running live sound through a mixer. I wanted something that would allow recording a feed from the live mix plus single out a few instruments that I did not need amplified but wanted to pick up for a recording (church service.) Also a bit of 'fiddling' at home with some recording. So far the sound quality has been very pleasing - very little noise and good dynamic range.
    Feature:
    For a novice like me, all I could ask for. The real clincher was the fact that this one has a 40 gig drive and can lay down 4 tracks at a time. Most of the competition was either memory card and/or only 2 tracks at a time.
    Quality:
    Feels like a tank
    Manufacturer Support:
    Haven't had to deal with it - the owner's manual is very thorough and easy to understand.
    Value:
    As mentioned before, a better value than its competition.
    The Wow Factor:
    Had to have it - I bought it!
    Overall:
    I think this gizmo will serve my needs. I am a 48 year old businessman who loves music and enjoys handling live sound needs and playing in the praise team of a church. Recording the group helps us understand what needs to improve and gives us a chance to enjoy what is going well. This device meets that need perfectly. Still, I can now imagine some 'studio' recording for our group in the near future..........
    Overall:
    **********5 out of 10
    Features:
    **********7 out of 10
    Value:
    **********8 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********7 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********6 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    **********7 out of 10

    100% of users found this reviews helpful (1 vote).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.
    By a customer from yahoo.com

    Submitted: 12/31/2005

    Style of Music: Jazz and Classical

    Experience: Recording Engineer

    "Beware of harmonic distortion!"

    Sound:
    I was puzzled as to why my recordings made had a "ringing sensation" in the playback. Recording sine wave sweeps at various peak levels showed a surprising level of harmonic distortion at channel input levels above -12dB on the Fostex meters (All channels on my unit have the same problem). A frequency analysis under a sound editor shows the harmonic distortion. The result is that I have to boost my recordings by 12 to 15dB dB in my PC sound editor and the resulting S/N ratio drops to 88dB at best! (i.e fed line levels from an external mixer) Also a recording made of idle channel noise (trim controls set to minimum gain) show spot noise frequencies at 2KHz and 4kHz, the noise floor is about -102dB (but only yields a -88dB S/N ratio because recording peaks must be kept under -12dB)
    Feature:
    The four mic inputs are the reason I bought the unit. The optical output can be used to drive the back unit (so it can record the harmonic distorion as well!)
    Quality:
    Noisy hard drive Don't drop it!
    Manufacturer Support:
    I hope not, they now only porvide EMAIL support!
    Value:
    "Cheap and cheerful", just don't expect too much.
    The Wow Factor:
    Working around the unit's limitations makes you think "Ebay this puppy"
    Overall:
    I now do not trust Fostex products. I did not expect to have to audio sweep the unit to find harmonic distortion, I have back off -12dB when recording in the field to aviod this unpleasant sound artifact and put the gain back when post processing!
    Overall:
    **********9 out of 10
    Features:
    **********8 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********8 out of 10
    Value:
    **********9 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********8 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********9 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    **********10 out of 10

    50% of users found this reviews helpful (2 votes).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.
    By a customer from aol.com

    Submitted: 8/23/2005

    Style of Music: Rock

    Experience: Lead Guitarist and interested musician

    "Not too fancy, affordable, it works. So hey, What a deal!"

    This reviewer purchased this item from Same Day Music.

    Sound:
    This product is pretty good. It nothing special, its just a regular multitrack recorder that works. Nothing fancy, if you want to record regular songs, this will do the trick.
    Feature:
    Not to many features, the effects that it has sound great though. And what really attracted me to this product was the fact that it had four track simultaneous recording and was only an eight track recorder. However I would have liked it to have a cd burner attached to it instead of having to hook it up to the computer and all that jazz.
    Quality:
    ehh, its okay, it looks a little too delicate, but its pretty good.
    Manufacturer Support:
    Never needed it but i would guess it is good.
    Value:
    Its great for someone who wants to record songs, needs something cheap, and doesn't want anything too fancy. Because be honest half the stuff on a fancy multitrack recorder you never use. I would say this is near perfect.
    The Wow Factor:
    To someone who never saw a multitrack recorder before, I'd say it looks pretty cool. But it doesn't look like anything special when you see a lot of other recorders.
    Recently Viewed:
    Your Interests:
    See Products That Ship to You
    Viewing products that ship to United States
     

    Copyright ©2014. This site is protected by copyright. There are terms for its use. Send us Feedback on our site and your experiences. Our descriptions, pictures, and prices are mostly accurate, but cannot be guaranteed. Cookies should be enabled in your web browser for full site functionality (details).