Toll Free 866-SHIP-SDM (866-744-7736) Mention service code 145G-J3ZB Hours

    Gibson SG Special Electric Guitar with Gig Bag

    Web Item #GIBSGSPEB

    This product can only be ordered by phone. Please call us at 866-SHIP-SDM (866-744-7736).

    Overall User Ratings

    Overall:
    ********** 9.7 out of 10
    Quality:
    ********** 9.6 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    ********** 9.7 out of 10
    Ease of Use:
    ********** 9.6 out of 10
    Features:
    *********.* 9.4 out of 10
    Value:
    *********.* 9.4 out of 10
    Sound:
    ********** 9.6 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    ********** 9.8 out of 10

     

    User Reviews for Gibson SG Special Electric Guitar (with Gig Bag)


    Overall:
    **********10 out of 10
    Features:
    **********9 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********9 out of 10
    Value:
    **********10 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********10 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********10 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    **********10 out of 10

    100% of users found this reviews helpful (1 vote).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.
    By a customer from comcast.net

    Submitted: 12/27/2003

    Style of Music: Rock, Alternative, Jazz, Punk, Classic Rock

    "HOLY CRAP ON A STICK, IT'S AWSOME!!!"

    Sound:
    The humbuckers make it sound great, and with any kind of distortion, the guitar still packs a pretty big punch.
    Feature:
    I wish it had come with a tremelo bar, but i can get one on my own. The bridge was a little strange to play with at first because im used to playing a Strat, but it was pretty easy to adjust.
    Quality:
    The quality is really good. I had a couple of intenation problems at first but that's why God invented screwdrivers.
    Manufacturer Support:
    Nope, no service needed. Nothing has gone wrong with any part of the guitar so everything has been great.
    Value:
    I believe that the price is reasonably priced, but expensive of course for a teenager to afford. (The price below would be my limit)
    The Wow Factor:
    The color is an important thing. I would suggest wine red, because red is sexy. Red is the color of fire, passion, and power, and there's nothing more sexy than that.
    Overall:
    This guitar will take you a long way in your guitar-playing career, until you might happen to save up enough money for an even more kick-ass guitar.
    Overall:
    **********10 out of 10
    Features:
    **********10 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********10 out of 10
    Value:
    **********10 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********10 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********10 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    **********10 out of 10

    100% of users found this reviews helpful (1 vote).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.
    By a customer from hotmail.com

    Submitted: 2/29/2004

    Style of Music: Jazz, Country, rock, etc.

    "Gibson SG special really is special!"

    Sound:
    I am in the process of making a CD and giving some of the proceeds to the Lion's Club. I tried over 20 guitars before I got the sound and guitar action that suited my style.
    Feature:
    The Humbucker pickups give an authentic sound that recreates the excitement of the early 60's recordings. Whether I am playing jazz, country,or rock,I am able to get exactly the sound that I want.
    Quality:
    Excellent!
    Manufacturer Support:
    I never had to deal with the company. I am sure that their Customer service is a great as their products. I have never heard one negative comment about Gibson. Musicans love to talk as well as sing.
    The Wow Factor:
    For me the Gibson Sg special is just a practical addition to my setup. However,my wife and friends marvel at its beauty!
    Overall:
    If the guitar were lost or stolen, I'd buy an exact replacement.
    Overall:
    **********10 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********10 out of 10
    Value:
    **********9 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********10 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********10 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    **********10 out of 10

    100% of users found this reviews helpful (1 vote).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.
    By a customer from aol.com

    Submitted: 12/13/2003

    Style of Music: Rock

    "THIS GUITAR KICKS ASS!!!!!"

    Sound:
    This guitar has awsome sound and the best action you can find. There is no match for the gibson SG its cheaper than a les Paul but almost just as good. WWhatever you want to do on this guitar the SG can do it.
    Quality:
    The Gibson SG is made from the best materials for the best sound and the best feel. it is super light and easy to take where ever you want to go.
    Manufacturer Support:
    GIBSON ROCKS!!!!!
    Value:
    This guitar is a little pricey but it worth it to get the best sound and the best feel out of a guitar
    The Wow Factor:
    The looks of this guitar are unbeatale and as you can see from the way angus young plays it, it can do anything!
    Overall:
    This guitar will last you for ever if you get it when you started out you can keep it til your death and it will still sound just as good.
    Overall:
    **********10 out of 10
    Features:
    **********9 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********9 out of 10
    Value:
    **********10 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********9 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********10 out of 10

    100% of users found this reviews helpful (1 vote).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.
    By a customer from hotmail.com

    Submitted: 12/5/2003

    Style of Music: Rock, Metal, Alternative, Blues

    "Marvel"

    Sound:
    Beautyfull, rich sound all round. Perfect for Hard Rock, Metal and Blues.
    Feature:
    It's surprisingly light and the mahogany neck makes it very pleasant to play.
    Quality:
    Excellent finish, just what u would expect from a USA Gibson.
    Manufacturer Support:
    I havnt had any troubles so far, so i have nothing to say about this one
    Value:
    An American made Gibson under $1000 with an amazing feel and sound. I paid $620
    The Wow Factor:
    SG is in my opinion the sexiest guitar. Santana, Angus Young, Peter Townshend have all got one...
    Overall:
    Its feel, its sound, its looks and last but not least: its value, make this guitar top of my list. A Les Paul of the same quality is much more expensive. An amazing, and I mean an amazing guitar for the average player!
    Overall:
    **********10 out of 10
    Features:
    **********10 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********10 out of 10
    Value:
    **********9 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********10 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********10 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    **********10 out of 10

    100% of users found this reviews helpful (1 vote).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.
    By a customer from yahoo.,com

    Submitted: 2/19/2005

    Style of Music: Rock, Hard Rock, Metal

    Experience: Active Musician

    "If you have any doubt in your mind wheater you should buy this guitar or not, then u should be shot."

    Sound:
    probably the best sound i have heard from a guitar for just about....ever!
    Feature:
    With four different knobs, u dont even need all the knobs on the amp. all u need is the guitar and u can fine tune the sound just like that.
    Quality:
    This guitar is flawless it has no mistakes, it looks great and sounds even better.
    Manufacturer Support:
    I dont think that this guitar will need any repairs or adjustments for a long time.
    Value:
    yes its a little pricy, but i think its worth it, its just going to take my whole summer to buy one.
    The Wow Factor:
    no doubt in my mind that this guitar or a les paul. i have tried them both and the action that this guitar has along with the sound just doesnt compare.
    Overall:
    I love, i need it and so do u!!!
    Overall:
    **********10 out of 10
    Features:
    **********10 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********10 out of 10
    Value:
    **********10 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********10 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********9 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    **********10 out of 10

    100% of users found this reviews helpful (1 vote).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.

    Submitted: 1/15/2004

    Style of Music: Rock

    "Buy it or the Standard"

    Sound:
    The sound is great but it caan get a little bit twangy sometimes. Sound awesome on overdrive with my Marshall Amp.
    Feature:
    It has two tone and two vol. knobs and a selecor switch (3 way)
    Quality:
    It is awesome. I am thinking of upgrading to SG Standard in a year or two.
    Manufacturer Support:
    No problems
    Value:
    A real bang for your buck
    The Wow Factor:
    Looks awesome on stand
    Overall:
    This is a great guitar
    Overall:
    **********10 out of 10
    Features:
    **********10 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********10 out of 10
    Value:
    **********10 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********10 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********10 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    **********10 out of 10

    100% of users found this reviews helpful (1 vote).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.

    Submitted: 10/25/2004

    "This is one of the best (proble the best) I've ever played with. It has the best sound out of any guitar."

    Sound:
    Everything is awesome about it!
    Feature:
    All perfect!
    Quality:
    Made and assemled great!
    Manufacturer Support:
    Nothing was wrong!
    Value:
    It's worth more than the selling price!
    The Wow Factor:
    Awesome design!
    Overall:
    Good for at least 10 more years!!!!!!
    Overall:
    **********9 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********10 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********8 out of 10

    75% of users found this reviews helpful (4 votes).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.
    By a customer from yahoo.com

    Submitted: 4/23/2006

    Style of Music: metal to funk to blues to rock(hardcore!)

    Experience: active musician

    "with a little work a black beauty"

    Sound:
    this guitar overall is a very good value,though its best fit for metal and harder music it can also handle full chords very well. A little dry sounding i put emg zakk wyldes in mine and a mirror pickguard its black so it looks so friekin hott a very good guitar for shows considering it costs half what my les paul custom costs and it sounds almost as good better for the heavyier riffs.
    Feature:
    truely i like this product alot but i wish it started out with hotter pickups in it it being a sg it needs the boost. i also wish it came stock with locking tuners......overall pleased though.
    Ease of Use:
    this guitar is very playable i like the low action and the lightness compared to a les paul though it does lack some of the clean quality a les paul has it makes up for it with the grind....for how easy it is to use mainly i believe its the player not the guitar if you give me a beginners crappy squier bullit i could still pull of a hendrix solo though its does help to have better gear being a good player matters the most.
    Quality:
    it came in very good shape though the numbers on the headstock are a little to painted......they are hard to read..my sg is very reliable more so than any of my fenders and its quite tough i play metal mainly and i can throw this guitar aroung without much trouble.
    Manufacturer Support:
    they were very easy to deal with and helped me deal straight with the problem putting a tech on the phone with me.
    Value:
    is deffinatly worth every penny though it may take some work to make it sound like a metal machine.
    The Wow Factor:
    after doing some work it looks wayyy hotter than a paul
    Overall:
    i would deffinatly say i am happy with this product and would buy it all over again.
    Overall:
    **********10 out of 10
    Features:
    **********10 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********10 out of 10
    Value:
    **********10 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********10 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********10 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    **********10 out of 10

    67% of users found this reviews helpful (3 votes).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.
    By a customer from hotmail.com

    Submitted: 12/28/2004

    Style of Music: Rock, Hard rock, you know.... EVH, Slayer, AC/DC, JP, all the classics

    Experience: im very active in my super fast finger frolocking

    "GOT ONE, GOT THE T-SHIRT, ABSOLUTELY LOVE IT"

    Sound:
    seriously, if you are even thinking about getting one, dont think about any other guitar!! its amazing. Im the biggest shred head ull ever find and im so happy widdling along this baby with its creamy thick tones, and lightning bite for leads!!
    Feature:
    has everything ull ever need. Unless you want a wammy bar. But then you can always have one fitted on. I own an ibanez prestige also and it rapes it hard.
    Quality:
    G-I-B-S-O-N , did you really have to even look at this section to even wonder what its like!!! saeriously though, fast neck, brilliant wood on it btw, lovely grains on the mahogany body. Spot on gibson.
    Manufacturer Support:
    Never needed it, i doubt i ever will...
    Value:
    "i just bought a gibson for $699, its an sg special" "YOU WOOOOOTTT?????? $699??!!!?? YOOUU LLLIIIARRR" "no no, really, its the best thing since sliced bread"
    The Wow Factor:
    Well, realistically, i got got one for f*ck sakes, what a stupid question. Put it like this, if it were a stick of bubble gum, i could sell it to a person with lockjaw!
    Overall:
    fab. Cant ask for anything more, perfect balance- flawless tones, and features. Just perfect
    Overall:
    **********10 out of 10
    Features:
    **********10 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********10 out of 10
    Value:
    **********8 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********10 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********10 out of 10
    Ease of Use:
    **********10 out of 10

    100% of users found this reviews helpful (1 vote).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.

    Submitted: 3/12/2006

    Style of Music: heavy metal

    Experience: Lead guitarist in a band

    "The best sounding and looking guitar out there."

    Sound:
    This is an incredible guitar. I was honored to play it since Tony Iommi from Black Sabbath used the same guitar for over 25 years. I love the way it sounds, it's evil!
    Feature:
    Sounds great. The humbuckers are perfect.
    Ease of Use:
    It is very easy to use.
    Quality:
    The SG is very sturdy and well put together.
    Value:
    Little too expensive.
    The Wow Factor:
    very sexy, plenty of curves
    Overall:
    The Perfect guitar
    Overall:
    **********8 out of 10
    Features:
    **********5 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********7 out of 10
    Value:
    **********5 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********8 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********7 out of 10
    Ease of Use:
    **********9 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    **********10 out of 10

    67% of users found this reviews helpful (3 votes).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.
    By a customer from aol.com

    Submitted: 11/12/2006

    Style of Music: Classic rock

    Experience: Active musician

    "A real road warrior."

    This reviewer purchased this item from Same Day Music.

    Feature:
    This is one of the more Spartan Gibsons, but that's a good thing depending upon the perspective. I like a stripped-down guitar with no flowery binding or intricate inlays or figured maple tops. Plus, the finish is great at hiding small dings and scratches (I have the black one, but most others are just as good). However, the Gibson 3-way switches are poor quality. I've played by fair share of LPs, Vs, X-plorers and SGs in virtually all price ranges, and one thing is the same in all of them
    Overall:
    **********8 out of 10
    Features:
    **********7 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********8 out of 10
    Value:
    **********8 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********10 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********7 out of 10

    100% of users found this reviews helpful (1 vote).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.

    Submitted: 10/18/2003

    Style of Music: metal/jazz/techno

    "A taste of death"

    Sound:
    This guitar rocks like hell... but the neck pick up is slighty muddy.
    Quality:
    the finish get so messed up so easily
    Overall:
    it inspired my lead playing but for thick tones id use a prs
    Overall:
    **********10 out of 10
    Features:
    **********10 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********10 out of 10
    Value:
    **********10 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********10 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********10 out of 10
    Ease of Use:
    **********10 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    **********10 out of 10

    50% of users found this reviews helpful (2 votes).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.

    Submitted: 3/5/2006

    Style of Music: rock

    Experience: active musician

    "sexy, hot, chicks dig it, best thing u will ever buy."

    Sound:
    this is the besthing u will ever hear in ur whole life. it sounds much better than the red one.
    Feature:
    it has the best featurs ull ever find. also the chicks dig it.
    Ease of Use:
    im a intermediot at gatire and when i tryed it it was so so so so so, so so so, so so so so so easy to use.
    Quality:
    it made veary well it is made by man so it works better than epphion witch is made by macien.
    Manufacturer Support:
    it is super super easy to reach a beginner could reach the tpop of it
    Value:
    it is so worth the price. it so below the price it should be.
    The Wow Factor:
    even though i dont own it i really want it im saving up 4 it so badly.
    Overall:
    it is the best thing u will ever buy in ur whole life time.
    Overall:
    **********9 out of 10
    Features:
    **********10 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********9 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********10 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********10 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    **********10 out of 10

    100% of users found this reviews helpful (1 vote).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.
    By a customer from yahoo.com

    Submitted: 11/5/2003

    Style of Music: Rock

    "This is a great guitar for under a thousand bucks it plays, sounds and feels like a more expensive model."

    Sound:
    I have owned my Gibson SG for Eight years and it still sounds and playes great it does anything you want it to do. I bought it new. this guitar has never let me down.
    Quality:
    there was one slight finishing blemish on this guitar barley noticeable
    Manufacturer Support:
    The gibson customer service people are really good to deal with
    Value:
    So far the only electric guitars that hold value are Gibson, and vintage Fender's
    Overall:
    I will always love my SG but, I would like to have a Les Paul Standard, Classic or even a SG 61 reissue one day.
    Recently Viewed:
    Your Interests:
    See Products That Ship to You
    Viewing products that ship to United States
     

    Copyright ©2014. This site is protected by copyright. There are terms for its use. Send us Feedback on our site and your experiences. Our descriptions, pictures, and prices are mostly accurate, but cannot be guaranteed. Cookies should be enabled in your web browser for full site functionality (details).

    Get the best deals at the speed of sound!
    PLUS exclusive discounts and news straight to your inbox.

    Totally FREE - just provide your email address.
    (The only risk in joining is saving too much!)

    I'd like Sonic Savings via postal service, too.
    We will not sell your email address. You can opt out at any time. No thanks, take me to Same Day Music.