Toll Free 866-SHIP-SDM (866-744-7736) Mention service code 1617-C8W4 Hours

    Gibson SG Standard Electric Guitar with Case

    Web Item #GIBSGSTD

    This product can only be ordered by phone. Please call us at 866-SHIP-SDM (866-744-7736).

    Overall User Ratings

    Overall:
    ********** 9.6 out of 10
    Quality:
    *********.* 9.4 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    ********** 9.7 out of 10
    Ease of Use:
    ********** 10 out of 10
    Features:
    *********.* 9.2 out of 10
    Value:
    *********.* 9.3 out of 10
    Sound:
    ********** 9.5 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    *********.* 9.4 out of 10

     

    User Reviews for Gibson SG Standard Electric Guitar (with Case)


    Overall:
    **********10 out of 10
    Features:
    **********9 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********10 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********10 out of 10
    Ease of Use:
    **********10 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    **********5 out of 10

    100% of users found this reviews helpful (1 vote).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.

    Submitted: 5/16/2006

    "BUY IT NOW!"

    Sound:
    Oh my god, this guitar has the best sound of any guitar ive ever heard. when i run it through my marshall, and blast that distortion its EXACTLY what i was hoping for.
    Feature:
    I really wish it had a tremolo or a whammy bar, but im fixing that soon enough, gunna hook-up a Bigsby to this thing. its guarenteed to be great.(however i wouldn't recomend a Bigsby for an LP, its already a great weight, any more would ruin it)
    Ease of Use:
    GREAT fret board, smooth as silk, couldnt ask for better.
    Quality:
    ...uhhh, its a Gibson, #1 quality!
    Manufacturer Support:
    no problems
    Value:
    a little expensive, but easliy the best guitar ive owned.
    The Wow Factor:
    so sexy, my natural burst SG, with a Bigsby tremolo, and a Marshall amp...its a match made in heaven.
    Overall:
    one of the best guitars ive ever played.
    Overall:
    **********10 out of 10
    Features:
    **********8 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********9 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********10 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********10 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    **********10 out of 10

    100% of users found this reviews helpful (1 vote).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.
    By a customer from hotmail.com

    Submitted: 2/17/2004

    Style of Music: Rock, Jazz, Blues, Drums

    "SG A Pleasure To Play."

    Sound:
    Great from what I hear over my Who CD "Live At The Isle Of Wight Fest." Great especially through Marshall amps. Definetly the destinct sound of an SG combines with refinement you can expect from all the great Gibson products. Definetly, in fact its one of the best rock guitars ever used, especially since it was designed exactly for this purpose. Mark my words "Without a Doubt." Depending on what song your playing or writing and if you use a distortion pedal, without the pedal the "Clean Electric" sound suits alot of my playing style. Phenominal. Even better especially with the Marshalls and distortion that Pete Townshend put on, on the Live Album I have mentioned earlier. In recordings everything sounds a little more refined, but if its an experienced guitar playing riffing and doing his thing it would sound better live but thats just what I think. The SG, in a different setting than rock does do well, in fact I went to a concert where the blues guitar player was using a slide and it sounded perfectly suited in that setting. This SG was just hooked directly up to an amp with a clean distortion. It couldn't be anymore perfect than the purporse it already serves.
    Feature:
    Only a hard case from what the article tells me. The hard case is much more dependable then the usual gig case. None. If it doesn't come with a decent amp, which the article doesn't mention, I wish it would. I personally took full advantage of the SG spending 5 hours at my friend's house(who later got pretty mad at me for getting it so badly out of tune), almost unbeatable especially for the price.
    Quality:
    Yes, very. Factory control is great trurly up to Gibson standards. I only know of one time it failed but that was a small repair made on the spot. Only twice have I heard of it breaking, once on Pete Townshend at The Isle Of Wight(although unintentionaly)but it is widely known that he was rough with guitars anyway. Yes in its hard case. The breakability compred to some other guitars but that isn't much, only if your rough with it which no one should be with a guitar. It will extend through my family untill the end of the earth if its handled properly.
    Manufacturer Support:
    I must say I don't own one, though I wish i did, and I'm sure that Gibson would take extremely good care of you.
    Value:
    Yes every penny its a great experience to play on.
    The Wow Factor:
    Very awesome sex appeal... well the most you can get without pouring water all over Pamela Anderson. The points on it look sweet!!! I personaly would get the Cherry Red or Black. The neck is very smooth. The SG just flows the whole way, each piece of it is unmistakabley SG.
    Overall:
    I expect to search for other products while still being satisfied with the SG, once I buy it. Only if a part of it gets damaged, hey its always good to have a back-up. I would probably only buy another guitar for differnt sounds, for back-up, or for the look (the SG does the first and third perfectly well. Yes, definetly. I would panic then track down and kill the one who took it. Didn't buy it. Everything the SG offers every little feature is everythin I love about it, basically no flaws!!! Nothing.
    Overall:
    **********10 out of 10
    Features:
    **********9 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********10 out of 10
    Value:
    **********10 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********10 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********10 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    **********10 out of 10

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.
    By a customer from yahoo.com

    Submitted: 12/2/2003

    Style of Music: punk

    Gibson SG Standard Electric Guitar (with Case) Customer Review

    Sound:
    i play in a punk band, and it obtains a perfect sound no matter what song we are playing. It plays good screemo, and straight edge punk. great top end and low end.
    Feature:
    I like the stop tailbridge the best, because I hate having your guitar go out of tune in five minutes because of old worn strings on a whammy bar bridge.
    Quality:
    Nice solid guitar, parts screwed on tight. no blemishes, or loose parts, very nice.
    Manufacturer Support:
    no warranty expierences
    Value:
    great price, and every year it goes up for resale
    The Wow Factor:
    great good looking guitar the cherry red finish is very attractive
    Overall:
    I love this guitar and will never sell it, It will probably last my whole life, or until i cant play any more
    Overall:
    **********9 out of 10
    Features:
    **********9 out of 10
    Value:
    **********8 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********10 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********9 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    **********10 out of 10

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.
    By a customer from nassig.sicily.navy.mil

    Submitted: 7/31/2003

    Style of Music: blues rock

    "Lord of The Strings"

    Sound:
    Have a 1961 les paul first year sg had some neck problems. Axe had been dropped at one time in its life just was never quite right again.
    Feature:
    The pickups were the bomb crisp clean sound turn the gain up and razor sharp crunch put all other pickups to shame.
    Quality:
    I think the thin body design contributes to cracking at the neck joint position better to but an SG than a 1961 Les Paul reissue or an original.
    Manufacturer Support:
    Called the custom shop more than once for advice on the axe.
    Value:
    Kind of spendy but you get what you pay for and they usally will outlast your life if proper care is taken.
    The Wow Factor:
    Devilish with the horns of course
    Overall:
    This is it the guitar has the sound and craftsmanship and lasting style for the rest of my life.
    Overall:
    **********10 out of 10
    Features:
    **********6 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********10 out of 10
    Value:
    **********10 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********8 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********10 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    **********10 out of 10

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.
    By a customer from hotmail.com

    Submitted: 7/18/2004

    Style of Music: I play it all a lot of jazz and older rock

    "a great guitar"

    Sound:
    This guitar is awesomoe you can get just about any sound out of it you want.
    Feature:
    the features on this guitar are about the same as any other guitar but the humbucker pickups are awesome and the kluson tuners keep the guitar in tune forever.
    Quality:
    its a gibson do i have to say more you get what you pay for plus more.
    Manufacturer Support:
    gibson is all over the place you can reach them 24/7 365 wether by phone or on the internet
    Value:
    oh yeah its definitely something I would go after
    The Wow Factor:
    This guitar is so beautiful with the double cutaway and a sleek slender design that not only makes the guitar a little lighter than most electric guitars but makes it look better to.
    Overall:
    I have wanted this guitar for as longer than i have even been playing guitar so I have wanted this guitar for over 3 years and i still want it today
    Overall:
    **********10 out of 10
    Features:
    **********10 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********10 out of 10
    Value:
    **********10 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********10 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********10 out of 10
    Ease of Use:
    **********10 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    **********10 out of 10

    67% of users found this reviews helpful (3 votes).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.
    By a customer from yahoo.com

    Submitted: 2/25/2006

    Style of Music: Rock, Blues, just about anything except rap

    "Playing this guitar is the most fun you can have with your pants on..."

    This reviewer purchased this item from Same Day Music.

    Sound:
    This guitar sounds AWESOME. I use a Boss GT-8, and/or a DR-880. Both can produce a wide variety of great guitar sounds from Angus Young to Stevie Ray to ZZ Top and everything in between, even the more mellow 60's style. And by the way, I have used the forementioned processors with other guitars (I won't mention the other brands) and they don't sound nearly as good as with this guitar. This guitar produces the sound I've been searching my whole life for.
    Feature:
    Has everything you need except the whammy bar, but if you really need a whammy, check out the Angus or the SG Standard reissue with Maestro or just do your finger exercises. :oP
    Ease of Use:
    Very easy guitar to play. The action was perfectly set up from the factory.
    Quality:
    Gibson. The name says it all. Excellent craftmanship and quality.
    Manufacturer Support:
    Haven't needed them but based on the quality of this guitar, I imagine they're like the proverbial Maytag repair man sitting around with nothing to do. I'll give them this one.
    Value:
    You get what you pay for and this guitar is probably the best bang for your buck that you'll ever find.
    The Wow Factor:
    I bought my first SG not long ago and loved it so much I bought a second one. :o)
    Overall:
    I guess I should say something negative about Gibson so I'll just yell at them here for not convincing me to buy an SG 20 years ago. I would have saved a bundle on other guitars I've bought over the years had I bought an SG back when I first started playing.
    Overall:
    **********10 out of 10
    Features:
    **********10 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********10 out of 10
    Value:
    **********10 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********10 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********10 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    **********10 out of 10

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.

    Submitted: 1/10/2006

    "GREAT GUITAR!"

    Sound:
    This guitar KICKS ASS MAN...You can play some true hard core rock and roll with this sucker. Doub Humbuckers rock!
    Feature:
    wonderful dual volume knobs unlike the strat. I wish i had a whammy bar though
    Quality:
    Yes very nicely built
    Value:
    yes amazing playing and not that expensive..its worth it though
    The Wow Factor:
    amazing appeal...looks great
    Overall:
    I looked at this over 10 years ago and loved it...I finally have one
    Overall:
    **********10 out of 10
    Features:
    **********10 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********10 out of 10
    Value:
    **********10 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********10 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********10 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    **********10 out of 10

    100% of users found this reviews helpful (1 vote).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.

    Submitted: 12/1/2004

    "The greatest Guitar"

    Sound:
    Tis is the best guitar i've ever heard. It has souch a great hard crisp sound to it. I knew i loved right when i heard it. Go figure my favorite guiar players play it like Angus Young, Pete Townsend, and Jimi Hendrix.
    Feature:
    Great pick ups
    Quality:
    it's the best sounding guitar i've ever heard
    Manufacturer Support:
    The company is awesome i kind of want to be a Gibson guitar maker
    Value:
    this is a great guitar and i'd do anything to buy this guitar
    The Wow Factor:
    the red the little horns on the body
    Overall:
    THis is the greatest guitar in the world
    Overall:
    **********9 out of 10
    Features:
    **********7 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********8 out of 10
    Value:
    **********9 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********10 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********8 out of 10

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.

    Submitted: 10/28/2003

    "The SG marvel."

    Sound:
    If you want a great lead guitar to cut the crap and give you rich sound, this is the one.
    Feature:
    This guitar is a great guitar for rock, blues, and other types of music. It can generate a great sound for different types of music, from metal to smooth blues.
    Quality:
    This guitar is a high quality Gibson. The finish on the SG Standard has a beautiful shine. The SG is a challenge to keep looking new but if you put effort into taking care of it, it will shine with an unbeatable shine.
    Manufacturer Support:
    I haven't had to deal with the company.
    Value:
    I think this guitar is absolutely worth the price. I have tried other guitars but this one is my favorite so far.
    The Wow Factor:
    I wanted this guitar since the first day I saw it. It is a lightweight marvel. For me, still growing and all, it is easy to carry around the stage. The SG is my favorite guitar and I would buy a new one if it got stolen or damaged.
    Overall:
    I will try to keep this guitar for the rest of my life. I would definetely replace it if anything happened to it. I never considered buying another guitar since I saw the SG and I will definetely buy more of them when I get the money. This guitar has gone beyond what I expected and I am very happy with it.
    Overall:
    **********10 out of 10
    Features:
    **********10 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********10 out of 10
    Value:
    **********10 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********10 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********10 out of 10

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.
    By a customer from concast.net

    Submitted: 4/6/2004

    Style of Music: Classic Rock

    Gibson SG Standard Electric Guitar (with Case) Customer Review

    Feature:
    The toggle switch is in a very conveinient position. I've tested this guitar and, unlike the LP, the switch doesnt get in the way. Instead its at the bottom near the knobs which goes along with my playing style better. Also very lightweight and neck is easy to play on.
    Quality:
    Hell, its a Gibson. Gibson of course makes great products. Thats what theyre known for...
    Value:
    I dont have one yet but soon will. Besides, you get MUCH better quality than the SG specials (pickups on the standard make the SG the SG).
    The Wow Factor:
    Damn this guitar looks HOTT. Really, who wouldnt want it!? Next year when i have the $$$, this guitar is comin off the shelves and right into my room. I think itll nicely accompany my strat.
    Overall:
    Sweet guitar.
    Overall:
    **********9 out of 10
    Features:
    **********9 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********10 out of 10
    Value:
    **********9 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********10 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********10 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    **********10 out of 10

    100% of users found this reviews helpful (1 vote).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.

    Submitted: 10/30/2004

    Gibson SG Standard Electric Guitar (with Case) Customer Review

    Sound:
    sounds awesome it has a bluesy heavy sounds that only comes with gibson
    Feature:
    it comes with a case but there should be more colors the everyone that gets one of these guitars, its black and if i ever get one i want it to be a differnet color
    Quality:
    holds up realy well to bad circumstances
    Manufacturer Support:
    its the best company around
    Value:
    worth the money
    Overall:
    **********8 out of 10
    Features:
    **********10 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********9 out of 10
    Value:
    **********9 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********10 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********9 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    **********10 out of 10

    50% of users found this reviews helpful (2 votes).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.
    By a customer from hotmail.com

    Submitted: 11/15/2004

    Style of Music: Classic Rock

    Experience: 70's Guitarist buff

    "~Desperado~"

    Sound:
    I love my SG Standard.Shes got a real meaty sound.Im a classic rock buff so this baby fits perfectly into my playing.I'll always favor my Les Paul Custom but my SG is still pretty sweet!
    Feature:
    The Standard features what I want in an SG.
    Quality:
    Not as solid as a Les Paul but Gibson always builds a great product.
    Manufacturer Support:
    I have owned ONLY gibson electic gutitars and they have stood behind every one!
    Value:
    They aren't cheap thats for sure but if they are taken care of they hold value.You wanna pay less buy an Epiphone.
    The Wow Factor:
    Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm they're just great lookin' horny devils!
    Overall:
    SG rates an 8 next to a Les Paul at 10.
    Overall:
    **********10 out of 10

    50% of users found this reviews helpful (2 votes).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.
    By a customer from aol.com

    Style of Music: Rock and rocking rock and roll!

    "Great lengendary guitar!"

    Sound:
    The sound of the SG standard is exceptional. I've played on stage many years with it and used it on more than a few of the "group's" albums and CDs. Outrageous sound is all I can say!
    Quality:
    This product does quite well "on the road." Of course, we always have a few backups, in case a string breaks. But the backups are all identical SGs!
    Overall:
    **********10 out of 10
    Features:
    **********8 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********10 out of 10
    Value:
    **********10 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********10 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********10 out of 10
    Ease of Use:
    **********10 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    **********10 out of 10

    50% of users found this reviews helpful (2 votes).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.
    By a customer from yahoo.com

    Submitted: 5/13/2006

    Style of Music: Rock , Heavy Metal

    Experience: Active Musician

    "The Guitar is GODLIKE.Not more comments but it's worth it!"

    Sound:
    this gutar has the most awesome sound i ever seen. The Sound is so expressive like Oprah yelling at your ears!It Has the power to make you godlike.No wonder that Anges Young is Playng a Gibson Sg!I Play Heavy Metal using a Lot of Distortion!The Sound is so clear.No Buzzing is interfeering.The sond is distorted but you can hear every string so clearly!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!I Love The GIBSON SG STANDARD .
    Feature:
    My friend bought it and it included a case and a set of Polyfiber Strings!The string was cool but the case was'nt my style tough.but is good.
    Ease of Use:
    Very playable!Everything is so CLEAR!No comment........
    Quality:
    Sometimes it's good to have backup parts (in case of dropping the guitar)but i'm very satisfied.I'm buying one in spring!
    Manufacturer Support:
    My Friend did'nt say anything.I suppose it was Ok
    Value:
    Well,it is expensive but i think it's worth every penny!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    The Wow Factor:
    It's godlike!!!!!!!
    Overall:
    All my Life!!if i want to search for another sound i'll buy a distortion device but after i buy the guitar i'll never replace it!
    Overall:
    **********8 out of 10
    Features:
    **********7 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********8 out of 10
    Value:
    **********9 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********9 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********8 out of 10

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.

    Submitted: 2/26/2004

    "guitar from heaven"

    Sound:
    the sound of this product is not bad its humbuckers give it a unique sound its neck is nice and easy to play on unlike a lot of peoples i know, its a smooth finish and i rate this guitar with credit.
    Quality:
    the quallity of this guitar is great its not a cheap peice of crap ,cause of its make its amazing
    Value:
    2000
    Overall:
    **********10 out of 10
    Features:
    **********9 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********10 out of 10
    Value:
    **********10 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********10 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    **********10 out of 10

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.

    Submitted: 1/8/2006

    Style of Music: rock

    Experience: active musician

    Gibson SG Standard Electric Guitar (with Case) Customer Review

    Feature:
    whammy bars :(
    Value:
    bang 4 ur buck, really worth spending more money on a nice guitar like this one
    Overall:
    its one of those guitars that dont go out of style. i like the look and feel of the guitar, only thing is u cant put a good whammy bar on it. its better that getting the cheaper gibsons because they dont look as nice.
    Recently Viewed:
    Your Interests:
    See Products That Ship to You
    Viewing products that ship to United States
     

    Copyright ©2014. This site is protected by copyright. There are terms for its use. Send us Feedback on our site and your experiences. Our descriptions, pictures, and prices are mostly accurate, but cannot be guaranteed. Cookies should be enabled in your web browser for full site functionality (details).