Toll Free 866-SHIP-SDM (866-744-7736) Mention service code 161P-9W2N Hours

    Martin Standard Series HD-28 Acoustic Dreadnought Guitar with Case

    Web Item #MRTHD28

    New
    In Stock | Will Ship Mon
    •  
    • 2 Day: $26
    • Overnight: $80
    SpeedPlay: 2 payments of $1,424.50
    $2,849 Seen a lower price?

    Overall User Ratings

    Overall:
    ********** 9.5 out of 10
    Quality:
    ********** 9.6 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    *********.* 9.4 out of 10
    Ease of Use:
    ********** 9.6 out of 10
    Features:
    *********.* 9.3 out of 10
    Value:
    *********.* 9.1 out of 10
    Sound:
    ********** 9.5 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    *********.* 9.2 out of 10

     

    User Reviews for Martin HD28 Dreadnought Acoustic Guitar (with Case)


    Overall:
    **********10 out of 10
    Features:
    **********10 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********10 out of 10
    Value:
    **********9 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********10 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********10 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    **********10 out of 10

    100% of users found this reviews helpful (5 votes).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.
    By a customer from msn.com

    Submitted: 3/26/2004

    Style of Music: Bluegrass, folk, soft rock (Eagles, beattles, etc)

    "Ain't nothing like it!!"

    Sound:
    The sound of this guitar is incredible. The tenor notes are bright and clear and the Basss is as loud and deep as you want it to be. Want it electified? Don't put anything in it--Just put it in front of a good quality mic--that's enough. This by far and away the best sounding acoustic made (with the exception of a HD-35--Maybe--maybe).
    Feature:
    The fretboard is ebony and as nice as they come
    Quality:
    Quality is impeccable. Bookmatched spruce top, bookmatched sides (see at the rear strap pin). Back is bookmatched, finish is high gloss and beautiful. Hard to beat an instrument like this made out of Rosewood--made the way Martin makes them.
    Manufacturer Support:
    I have been to the Martin factory (if you are ever near Allentown< PA then go to Nazareth and watch them being made by hand! Delicately putting in abalone, pearl, and herringbone purfing. They are still made the same way they were made 100 years ago. Everytime I have talked or called Martin they were definitly 10's!
    Value:
    I paid $1100 (discounted)for mine in 1991. Look at the discounted price today. Not even a question about value, and it sounds better and better as the years go by.
    The Wow Factor:
    Wish I could afford to by a D-18, HD-35, and a D-28-12 string. I love Martins and have had one kind or another since 1964. I have played all of them, Taylors, Collings,Gibsons, Guilds --Have a Takemine EG-334SC and it doesn't even compare.
    Overall:
    IThe only thing I like least is the price--but you get what you pay for. I have a Gibson B-25 (Over 35 years old) a Takemine but nothing compares to the HD-28
    Overall:
    **********10 out of 10
    Features:
    **********10 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********10 out of 10
    Value:
    **********10 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********10 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********10 out of 10
    Ease of Use:
    **********10 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    **********10 out of 10

    100% of users found this reviews helpful (1 vote).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.
    By a customer from comcast.net

    Submitted: 2/2/2011

    Style of Music: Blues, Rock, Bluegrass,Country

    Experience: Active Musician

    "Martin Magic! The HD28 ..SWEEEET!"

    This reviewer purchased this item from Same Day Music.

    Sound:
    Amazing sound quality. It has loud booming bass and nice ringing trebles and when chorded has a rich full sound that makes the hair on your neck stand up. Beautiful sound strumming and fingerstyle, perfect for most playing styles .You'll love it!
    Feature:
    To me the HD28 is not overdone with eye candy. The features of this guitar lie in the construction and materials used. Just the right amount of goodies for looks,but a very,very well crafted and beautiful looking guitar. Snowflake inlays on the fretboard would be the only change I would make if I were to custom order one, but would not improve the sound at all.
    Ease of Use:
    Playing the HD28 is a real dream. Picking this guitar up and playing anything is absolutley a blast. The low profile neck is slightly different for me to get used to because the other Martin that I have been playing has the "modified" low oval neck and is slimmer, the HD's neck is just a shade thicker but very smooth and I will get used to it now I play this one more often.
    Quality:
    Quality? The BEST! Awesome craftsmanship and the precise attention to detail make this one pretty guitar for looks and sound wise. The guitar, when I received mine, was absolutley flawless! When I opened the case for the first time I was amazed how pretty it was, not a fingerprint on it,last touched by Martin employees before me. Oh, and the smell of the spanish cedar ribbon lining was euphoric!
    Manufacturer Support:
    Had to E-mail Martin for one little tech question and was very happy with the response, both quick and personal.
    Value:
    The typical selling price on the HD28 is not a real bad deal,This is a high quality guitar, but like anything else, shop around and find the deals! They are there! I purchased mine thru Same Day Music and couldn't been happier with the terms and price!
    The Wow Factor:
    The Construction and aesthetic's of the HD28 have a compelling appeal to me. When I researched models to buy, this guitar had all that I could want.Some models had bindings where I didn't want bindings,Inlays that where to gaudy, I also learned about Micarta, Stratabond, High Pressure Laminates,(HPL) and different materials used now days in guitar making, all probably good alternatives, but I wanted a true real solid wood guitar, and I chose the HD28~
    Overall:
    Compared to other guitars that I played in the same price range, Overall quality and sound of the Martin HD28 won me over. You just know it feels right when you first pick it up. I had that feeling. You should try one the next time your out shopping around!
    Overall:
    **********10 out of 10
    Features:
    **********10 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********10 out of 10
    Value:
    **********10 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********10 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********10 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    **********10 out of 10

    100% of users found this reviews helpful (3 votes).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.
    By a customer from msn.com

    Submitted: 12/6/2005

    Style of Music: Bluegrass

    Experience: Hobbyist

    "Buy This Guitar...You'll Never Regret It"

    This reviewer purchased this item from Same Day Music.

    Sound:
    Deep bass & well balanced otherwise.
    Feature:
    Materials are excelelnt. The compensated bone saddle results in great intonation.
    Quality:
    Solidly built of high quality materials.
    Manufacturer Support:
    Haven't need this, but Martin's reputation for customer service is outstanding.
    Value:
    This is a guitar to keep forever. It has great value especially considering the limited lifetime warranty.
    The Wow Factor:
    This is the guitar everyone else compares their guitars to. Who wouldn't want one?
    Overall:
    Will keep it forever. Have tried less expensive guitars, but have never been totally satisfied with them. I will of course be buying much more equipment over time.
    Overall:
    **********10 out of 10
    Features:
    **********10 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********10 out of 10
    Value:
    **********10 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********10 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********10 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    **********10 out of 10

    100% of users found this reviews helpful (1 vote).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.
    By a customer from aol.com

    Submitted: 5/2/2003

    Style of Music: rock, country and blues

    "Go to your nearset Martin Dealer pick a modle up and play it. This will make an impression which will be very hard to walk away"

    Sound:
    very rich tone and wide body of sound depth. very easy to fret cords. i own ovations and guilds and they all have their different tones but the hd28 is supreme. it gets better with age. i also amplify using a dean markley electronic pickup through a 1961 fender deluxe amp for an un believable sound. this gutair has an excellent natural tone eitherwhen picking through string arrangement or hard strumming.
    Feature:
    none other than the case which was a re issue of the vintage cases used when the hd28 first came out.
    Quality:
    solid in every respect; the hardware, bridge is tight excellent in evey way. no blems, nasty knots...the wood is bookmatched perfect. never have second thoughts about it's reliability...i do have back up gutairs but not because of lack of confidence but because of different tunings and i like gutairs. it's a road tool if you accept the dings, scratches that go along with it. it has a soft finish
    Manufacturer Support:
    never had to deal w/ them other to get dealer name that had mod that i was looking for. i wanted to go through a few of the same mod to insure top finish, playability, tone, etc,.. and found very little difference other than color of the rosewood...some had light wood grains while others had darker wood. sound, tone difference was almost un noticable.
    Value:
    yes, you get what you pay for and a martin holds strong value in the secondary market....not that i would ever consider selling mine...!
    The Wow Factor:
    the x bracing and detail that martin put's into it's instruments is un matched for a production gutair. it's typical martin shape and headstock design tappered into it's neck is original. the weight is supper light...i had to have a herringbone period!
    Overall:
    i will have this gutair as long as i live if i have any control over it. i am always looking to add another gutair to my collection, but always play a few of the old reliables...a martin is a martin and has that sound. i would replace if lost, damaged, etc,...i researched before i bought it would have been another mod. of martin. no dislikes
    Overall:
    **********10 out of 10
    Features:
    **********10 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********10 out of 10

    100% of users found this reviews helpful (1 vote).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.
    By a customer from cambrex.com

    Submitted: 12/10/2004

    Style of Music: rock, country

    Experience: 20 plus years of playing exp. hobbyist / songwriter

    "If you love music then you should spend the money for a martin your life long freind."

    Sound:
    Why mess with perfection.
    Feature:
    I love my martin HD-28 but I always wish I had the inlaid CFMARTIN in the head stock but those models were to pricey, and for the extra cash it does'nt make the guitar sound any better.
    Quality:
    I think martin guitars rule, they are made to last, they are great right out of the factory, I never worry something is going to break because martin backs up there guitars with lifetime warranties on craftsmanship.
    Value:
    yes
    Overall:
    **********10 out of 10
    Features:
    **********9 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********10 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********10 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********10 out of 10
    Ease of Use:
    **********9 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    **********10 out of 10

    100% of users found this reviews helpful (2 votes).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.
    By a customer from tiscali.co.uk

    Submitted: 2/28/2006

    Style of Music: none of the above - ragtime is my game

    Experience: active musician!!!

    "This is a bloody great guitar for all styles - and that's it!!!"

    Feature:
    None. As Tony the Tiger says - It's GGGRRREEEEEAAAATTTT!!!
    Quality:
    Yes!!!!Yes
    Value:
    I suppose so
    The Wow Factor:
    No it doesn't. Bollocks!!! All Bollocks. It's just a very good guitar - if pricey. Mine was
    Overall:
    **********10 out of 10
    Features:
    **********10 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********10 out of 10
    Value:
    **********10 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********10 out of 10

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.
    By a customer from kctcs.edu

    Submitted: 5/6/2004

    Style of Music: Bluegrass

    "There are guitars, and there are Martins, and then there are Martin MARTINS!!!"

    Sound:
    My HD-28 was made in 1986, and I bought it new in 1990. I played professoanally for a top billed bluegrass headliner for several years. He said it is one of the best sounding and playing Martins that he has seen in many years in the business. It has aged into that REAL MARTIN tone! It is a great studio guitar!
    Feature:
    The standard Martin case. Sides and back are rosewood, top is spruce, fingerboard ebony, pick guard black plastic, standard nut and saddle. The Martin finish is fragile, but I doubt it would have THAT tone with any other finish.
    Quality:
    As far as I can tell, its a D-45 without all of the dead sea shells and gold plating. Cosmetically its about as plain as you can get in a high-end instrument. But, what are the tonal qualities of abalone shell?
    Manufacturer Support:
    So far, I haven't experienced any problems that would lead me to require any warranty services.
    Value:
    Knowing that you are in the instrument sales business, let me say that I would not, and advise anyone to never buy and instrument that you have had an opportunity to play and examine personnaly. I've heard D-45's that sound like a gourd!
    Overall:
    Musical instruments are a lot like women. You may already have a good one, but you never stop trying others - just in case! I recently bought a killer Blueridge 140. I won't cry near a much if the bus runs over it as I would (Heaven forbid!) my HD-28.
    Overall:
    **********8 out of 10
    Features:
    **********9 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********8 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********9 out of 10

    100% of users found this reviews helpful (1 vote).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.
    By a customer from erfgooiers.nl

    Submitted: 5/16/2003

    Style of Music: Folk, Country-rock

    "When you are looking for a warm, not metallic sound, and need a bold bas between your cords, the HD-28 is your choice."

    Sound:
    The Sound is beautifully warm, maybe a little to less in the highs. This guitar sounds amazing when you fingerpick it slowly. Very warm, not metallic like the sound of most other steel string quitars. When you do fast fingerpicking, it becomes a little to bassy. The guitar seems to be made for playing cords with baselines between them. Amazing sound!!. You do not need a baseguitar beside you. A have a Highlander pickup under the saddle. Good combination for PA in my church.
    Feature:
    Every feature on it is just fine. Beautiful inlays on front and back. Not to much, not to less.
    The Wow Factor:
    Because it seems not being made for every stile, like fast fingerpicking, I need an other guitar beside it for doing that. I really want to keep the HD-28 for slow fingerpicking and playing " baselines between chords" , so I have to buy an other guitar beside it, because I gave my Ovation Legend away to my daughter. I promised her to do so before I found the HD-28. I'm thinking of the Gibson Hummingbird. But I have so save a few years though.
    Overall:
    Never replace the HD-28!!! It sounds so beautiful. Just buy something else beside it, when you really need it.
    Overall:
    **********10 out of 10
    Features:
    **********9 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********10 out of 10

    100% of users found this reviews helpful (1 vote).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.

    Submitted: 3/31/2004

    Martin HD28 Dreadnought Acoustic Guitar (with Case) Customer Review

    Sound:
    As a flat and finger picker, this guitar encourages you to play. It's giving and forgiving, and gets sweeter every year. I use it live and in the studio. It's beautiful for slide and alternate tunings. Simply a great guitar.
    Feature:
    it's not an ornimental guitar, just a well built one.
    Overall:
    **********10 out of 10
    Features:
    **********9 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********10 out of 10
    Value:
    **********9 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********10 out of 10
    Ease of Use:
    **********9 out of 10

    100% of users found this reviews helpful (1 vote).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.

    Submitted: 4/9/2006

    Style of Music: Bluegrass

    Experience: Hobby

    "I think that Martin HD-28 is the BEST sounding guitar on the market, I would put the one I own up against ANY other guitar that"

    Sound:
    My martin is a 1991 HD-28P I had bone put into the nut and also dear antler in the saddle. It will go with the best of the best, no doubt about it...
    Ease of Use:
    My martin is getting some age on it, and is starting to belly-up a little at the bridge, but it sure does put out the volume...
    Value:
    I paid 1,500 for my martin in 1991, compare that to the price today...
    Overall:
    I expect the martin to last as long as I take care of it...
    Overall:
    **********10 out of 10
    Features:
    **********10 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********10 out of 10
    Value:
    **********10 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********10 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********10 out of 10
    Ease of Use:
    **********10 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    **********10 out of 10

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.
    By a customer from comcast.net

    Submitted: 1/8/2011

    Style of Music: Rock,Blues,

    Experience: Hobbyist/Active Musician

    "A Must Have!"

    This reviewer purchased this item from Same Day Music.

    Sound:
    First off I have to start with the sound of the HD28. Simply amazing! Beatiful tone and clarity. Hard to imagine how it will sound in a few years after it gets broke in. I have a friend who has been playing for 40 years and currently plays in a band, he played my HD28 for the first time and he was simply floored. The look on his face was priceless and the word "cannon" kept coming up, then he he couldn't put it down. This guitar sounds "Beautiful" pickin or strummin!
    Feature:
    The craftsmanship on the HD28 is beyond incredible. Martin's lives up to their reputation as in my opinion the #1 guitar maker in the world. The solid spruce top, Solid East Indian Rosewood sides and back,( perfectly book matched)Solid Ebony Fretboard and Bridge, Low profile Mahoghany neck,Grover Tuners, Beautiful Zig Zag inlay on the back and Bold Herringbone inlay on top with an amazing high gloss finish. All the features and materials chosen for this model are what I would want in a custom ordered guitar. I couldn't want anymore on this,It's perfect!
    Ease of Use:
    Played fantastic right out of the box. The ebony fretboard and the very smooth neck made playing the HD28 a peach. I would very much recomend trying one. You'll be hooked.
    Quality:
    Very well crafted! It's a Martin!. What else could I even say, The quality is beyond words. The overall look and finish, the craftsmanship and right down to the sound and playability are astonishing. One of the reason's I chose to buy a Martin. ( I actually bought a life-long friend). Take it on the road or play at home this guitar gets the job done!
    Value:
    Great value. Heirloom quality!
    The Wow Factor:
    All I have to say is that when I first picked it up and held it in my hands,.I ...Uh..........Oh.. I believe I wet myself. I really always wanted an HD28, So I went to play some at local guitar shops, and that was it. I played alot of other more expensive Martins and Gibson's, Larivee's, Taylor's and less expensive one's also just to stay open minded to other possibilities,..I was sold on the HD-28 hands down.
    Overall:
    Overall I have a piece of art that plays beatiful music and that will be with me forever til I die! It's not for sale!
    Recently Viewed:
    Your Interests:
    See Products That Ship to You
    Viewing products that ship to United States
     

    Copyright ©2014. This site is protected by copyright. There are terms for its use. Send us Feedback on our site and your experiences. Our descriptions, pictures, and prices are mostly accurate, but cannot be guaranteed. Cookies should be enabled in your web browser for full site functionality (details).