Toll Free 866-SHIP-SDM (866-744-7736) Mention service code 16KC-2ZTX Hours

    Rickenbacker 4003 Electric Bass Guitar

    Web Item #RIC4003

    Price too low to show!

     

    You Have Selected:

    New, Fireglo
    In Stock | Will Ship Today
    •  
    • 2 Day: $16
    • Overnight: $56
    SpeedPlay: on orders of
    $249 for 2 payments
    Price too low to show
    New, Jetglo
    In Stock | Will Ship Today
    •  
    • 2 Day: $16
    • Overnight: $56
    SpeedPlay: on orders of
    $249 for 2 payments
    Price too low to show
    New, Mapleglo
    Order Now | Limited Qty
    •  
    • 2 Day: $16
    • Overnight: $56
    SpeedPlay: on orders of
    $249 for 2 payments
    Price too low to show

    This product can only be ordered by phone. Please call us at 866-SHIP-SDM (866-744-7736).

    Overall User Ratings

    Overall:
    *********.* 9.4 out of 10
    Quality:
    ********** 9.5 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    ********** 9.6 out of 10
    Ease of Use:
    ********** 9 out of 10
    Features:
    *********.* 9.2 out of 10
    Value:
    ********** 9 out of 10
    Sound:
    *********.* 9.4 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    ********** 8.8 out of 10

     

    User Reviews for Rickenbacker 4003 Electric Bass (with Case)


    Overall:
    **********10 out of 10
    Features:
    **********10 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********10 out of 10
    Value:
    **********7 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********10 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********10 out of 10
    Ease of Use:
    **********10 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    **********10 out of 10

    92% of users found this reviews helpful (12 votes).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.
    By a customer from aol.com

    Submitted: 4/13/2008

    Style of Music: Jazz, heavy metal, hard rock, rock

    Experience: Musician, playing for 7 years

    "AMAZING BASS"

    Sound:
    Amazing product that simply stands above the rest.
    Feature:
    The neck is very fine and easy to switch frets.
    Ease of Use:
    Great for beginners as well as expierienced players.
    Quality:
    Nothing ever comes loose or falls out.
    Manufacturer Support:
    Friendly, easy to reach, and all of it, outstanding service.
    Value:
    THis is a good bass but i bought mine for a little less $
    The Wow Factor:
    This is a beautifully crafted bass that will make your heart pump by looking at it.
    Overall:
    i expect to carry this bass with me to the grave there is nothing bad about it and nothing i like least.
    Overall:
    **********10 out of 10
    Features:
    **********8 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********10 out of 10
    Value:
    **********10 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********10 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********10 out of 10
    Ease of Use:
    **********9 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    **********10 out of 10

    83% of users found this reviews helpful (6 votes).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.
    By a customer from arrobba.com.mx

    Submitted: 3/7/2006

    Style of Music: 60's and 70's Rock and pop

    Experience: Garage musician ;)

    "The well-known Ricky"

    Sound:
    All the growl, punch, and deep lows have made this bass one of the favorites of all time! Do I need to say anymore?
    Feature:
    I have to say that all of the features are there since the 60's (Rick-o-sound, mechanical mute, etc.). That's great for me but maybe some of you would prefer the modern bass features. I personally love the mute pad because it's just the McCartney's Sgt Pepper sound. Rick-o-sound gives a wider possibilities, mostly when recording, to a universe of tonal mixes.
    Ease of Use:
    The neck is really fast, the factory setup was alright for me. Low action with no buzzes or dead spots. Is not hard to get used to (at least for me, that I've been playing for ten years). The neck adjustments (rarely needed) is easy.
    Quality:
    Rickenbacker means quality. From manufacture to finish, the bass is consistent. Ricks are famous because its instruments lasts for decades. The neck has the unique feature of the dual truss rod system, adding even more stability and solid intonation.
    Manufacturer Support:
    I haven't dealt directly with Rick' support, but any question I had about the product, was quickly answered in the Rickenbacker's forum, at their website, and many of that answers came from the company CEO, or the customer support personnel.
    Value:
    This bass worth every penny paid for it. There are many overpriced basses out in the market, that are still more expensive than the 4003, but not worthing it.
    The Wow Factor:
    I've waited for three years to get the money for this baby and, believe me, I have no regret of that.
    Overall:
    This bass deserves its GREAT prestige. Is the best.
    Overall:
    **********10 out of 10
    Features:
    **********10 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********10 out of 10
    Value:
    **********10 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********10 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********10 out of 10
    Ease of Use:
    **********9 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    **********10 out of 10

    83% of users found this reviews helpful (6 votes).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.
    By a customer from sbcglobal.net

    Submitted: 12/3/2006

    Style of Music: Rock, Classic Rock, Rush Covers, and some Jazz/Fusion

    Experience: Active Musician

    "Modern Classic, bassed upon the playing of Chris Squier, Geddy Lee, Cliff Burton, and many others, the Rickenbacker 4003 will sa"

    Sound:
    Chris Squier. Geddy Lee. Cliff Burton. Need I say more? Not only have they all played on the best sounding bass on the planet, hte finish and look are superb! The bridge pickup is a tad weak, and Rickenbacker does sell another model of pickup (which is very easy to replace) but unless you are a perfectionist, there is no need to adjust it at all. The weight isnt bad either, compared with the Musicman's Im used to playing, Rickenbackers practically float right on the shoulder. The midline is great from classic rock-type riffing, and sounds great on a small Jazz setup as well. The one downside is the cost, you'll have to penny pinch for a bit, but its all worth.
    Feature:
    I dont think there are any improvements to be made here, unless yours happen to not come with a Rick O Sound kit. (I wouldnt know, I've only played this beautiful machine) The case it comes with is superb quality, well it is a Rickenbacker case, so there you have it.
    Ease of Use:
    Getting the equalization just right takes a bit of time, but heck, any true bass player would enjoy it, it just means more time spent playing a Rickenbacker 4003. Some people have complained about the bridge pickup guard gettting in the way of their playing, I dont think its a problem, but if it is, it is easily removeable, and just leaves the bridge pickup exposed. Not neccessarily a bad thing.
    Quality:
    I havent seen any loose parts, and the one i regularly play on is a display model, so a lot of people use it. The finish rivals that of a brand new Geddy Lee signature Jazz Bass (Fender). Then of course, you have some beautiful color options, all of which look amazing. As far as roadablility goes, go for it. But my personal advice is to bring at least one more backup RiC. I mean after all, sometimes the inevitable happens (Like Alex Lifeson loosing one of his Signature Brand guitars to a stagehand slipping offstage durring a guitarswitch) and it would be sad to see the Rickenbacker tone retired from a gig due to an "accident" or some other such folly. But in general, Ricks are built like tanks, and if you keep it dry and in the case when not using it, there should be no problems at all.
    Manufacturer Support:
    I sent some feelers out asking about local dealers and got a reply about 6 hours later, which is an unusually fast turnaround time. But it was helpful info, and the dealers tend to be knowledgeable about the products, so no complaints there.
    Value:
    I think every cent is worth it. I've some bass models sell for around $2600, and personally, I think a Rickenbacker would have been a better choice than those particullar models (no specifics, no to incriminate)
    The Wow Factor:
    Well, its no Steinberger, so the inovation doesnt get a 10, it only gets a 9.9 from me. But hey, its the classic Rickenbacker, and being able to look back upon great players such as Chris Squier, Geddy Lee, and Cliff Burton, its a marvel to see what these great players did with their Rickenbackers. And the fact the NO OTHER BASS LOOKS OR SOUNDS LIKE IT IN THE WORLD means theres something to be said for having one onstage. Especially if you are a good player.
    Overall:
    I currently have a 1984 Musicman Stingray, and I'm saving up for my Rickenbacker 4003. I might eventually get 2, (one Jetglo, One Fireglow). The only other bass I see myself getting is a Steinberger and possibly the Geddy Lee Signature Jazz Bass. But of all the bass options out there, I put Rickenbacker at the forefront of my "to buy" list.
    Overall:
    **********10 out of 10
    Features:
    **********10 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********10 out of 10
    Value:
    **********8 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********10 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    **********8 out of 10

    83% of users found this reviews helpful (6 votes).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.
    By a customer from comcast.net

    Submitted: 6/14/2006

    Style of Music: everything man jazz, rock, punk, alt., some country and anything else.

    Experience: active musician

    "the best bass ever."

    Sound:
    no matter how bad you are this bass makes you sound terrific. This was my first bass and after 13 basses its still my favorite.
    Feature:
    this bass has a great bridge that goes over the strings it not only improves sound quality you can rest your fingers on it aswell.
    Quality:
    oh yeah oh yeah it played like an angel.
    Manufacturer Support:
    very hard bass to find in stores i had to order it online.
    Value:
    a bit too pricey. but worth it
    The Wow Factor:
    umm yeah this bass was the only bass i ever wanted so bad i worked my @$$ off.
    Overall:
    for a life time i would never give this away. i hope i get barried with it.
    Overall:
    **********10 out of 10
    Features:
    **********9 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********10 out of 10
    Value:
    **********10 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********10 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********10 out of 10

    80% of users found this reviews helpful (5 votes).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.
    By a customer from thestocktons.org

    Submitted: 6/30/2004

    Style of Music: Rock, Progressive Rock, Blues

    "After All These Years, Ric is Still on Top"

    This reviewer purchased this item from Same Day Music.

    Sound:
    The best bass for lead bass and classic rock hands down. If you want a 'Boom Boom, Out Go The Lights' sound, then pick a Fender or a Fender knock off.
    Feature:
    I've had an active bass ever since active basses were created. Who cares? Nothing touches the Ric for tone and sustain. Lets be honest What does a bass really need other than a punchy midrange and piano-like clarity and sustain? A compressor is about all. The only things the Ric comes with are a decent manual and a nice case. That's all it needs.
    Quality:
    Mirror finish. A Rickenbacker! What would you expect?
    Manufacturer Support:
    Not needed.
    Value:
    If you like classic progressive rock ala Squire and Lee or just want a punchy bass that stands out from the crowd, this is the one.
    The Wow Factor:
    If you want to punch through the noise and be heard, this is the bass for you. Why stay in the background when you've got something to say?
    Overall:
    For traditional bass, go with a Fender. For lead bass and doing solos, the Ric is the only way to fly.
    Overall:
    **********9 out of 10
    Features:
    **********8 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********10 out of 10
    Value:
    **********8 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********10 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********10 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    **********5 out of 10

    80% of users found this reviews helpful (5 votes).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.
    By a customer from gpcom.net

    Submitted: 6/15/2003

    Style of Music: Mid 70's to early 80's Rock

    "Geddy Lee's disciple."

    Sound:
    As a Geddy Lee disciple, The 4001-4003 is the bass without equal. Not only is it the most beautiful bass, it has a most unique sound, good high-end and low-end and an incredible mid range sound. I have both the 4001 and the 4003, the 4003 is a bit sturdier as it has two truss rods rather than one in the 4003. I will not play another bass.
    Feature:
    I have problems with the bridge, The fine adjustment screws strip with little force. And on the height adjustment, can't set the strings low enough.
    Quality:
    Keep a nut driver with you on the road for truss rod adjustments if you use high tension round wound strings.
    Manufacturer Support:
    While they were easy to reach, when i called about a warranty repair. The bridge part that had the striped screws is removable, they said i had to sent in the whole guitar instead of the part. I ended-up going to my local repair shop to have it fixed $3.00. It would of cost me over $30.00 in shipping to send the whole thing in.
    Value:
    Of course, everybody thinks the price should be lower, The Rick is a bit pricey though.
    The Wow Factor:
    It's a beautiful bass
    Overall:
    Going to change the bridge to a Bad Ass II in the future.
    Overall:
    **********9 out of 10
    Features:
    **********10 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********10 out of 10
    Value:
    **********10 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********9 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    **********10 out of 10

    75% of users found this reviews helpful (8 votes).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.
    By a customer from yahoo.com

    Submitted: 10/7/2005

    Style of Music: Drum and bass, and Ragae/rock

    Experience: Active Musician

    "Stck with Rick for life even if you have to leave your wife."

    Sound:
    the best low end I've ever heard,also great action but not a choice for rookies,but exelent for jazz /rock ,,, the sustain really kicks ,, ,my drummer says its the best hes ever heard compared to a gibson thunderbird<<<very impressive sounds wheeeww man a must for a vet.also i played on a fender frontman 60 and it really ripped now i play on a crate 100,,,and damn there both the best ,,,its the bass really not the amp.
    Feature:
    absloutly #1 the best ive ever heard and top of the line!!!!
    Quality:
    OHHHH yes made the best of the best i give it a 10 +
    Manufacturer Support:
    never had a problem <<<
    Value:
    its a GO ,,,its worth what ya pay for...
    The Wow Factor:
    i consider Ricks ti have a great sex appeal
    Overall:
    If I ever have the privalage to owne another Rick I will never let it go
    Overall:
    **********9 out of 10
    Features:
    **********9 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********10 out of 10
    Value:
    **********10 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********10 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********10 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    **********8 out of 10

    67% of users found this reviews helpful (3 votes).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.
    By a customer from yahoo.com

    Style of Music: Blues and classic rock

    "Still the king of all basses!"

    Sound:
    Tremendous punch and plenty of thump. That classic "Rickenbacker" sound that any bass player can recognize from across the room. Louder than my friend's "active" Warwick!
    Feature:
    Seperate volume and tone knobs for each pick-up. 3-way toggle. Stereo output (which I have used on occassion) works quite well. Dual truss-rod kneck tricky to adjust, but do-able. Fit, finish, and overall quality are outstanding.
    Quality:
    Fit, finish and workmanship are tops! Finish looks so deep you feel like you can reach in to it. Chrome is flawless. Durable (though large and heavy) hardshell case.
    Manufacturer Support:
    I have not dealt with Rickenbacker directly, but they do NOT authorize ANY dealer or shop to work on their guitars and basses. If your's has a defect, you have to ship it to California! Mine had a loose ground, but I was able to find it and fix it myself. It is VERY rare that a Rickenbacker is defective in any way.
    Value:
    They sell for the same or MORE used than new!!!! 'nuff said. (that said, they are a little pricey, but remember, each Rickenbacker guitar and bass is COMPLETELY hand made in the USA)
    The Wow Factor:
    In my opinion, the Rickenbacker 4000 series basses are the bestlooking (and possibly most recogniseable) on the planet. I get comments and compliments on mine at EVERY gig. Mine is "fireglow" (cherry sunburst). I would someday like to get a "mapleglow" one to compliment it.
    Overall:
    For me it's a 10+, but I realize that the look and sound of a Ric is not for everyone, so I gave it a 9. If mine were ever lost or stolen, I would ONLY replace it with another Rickenbacker. If you play slap/funk style (I don't), don't buy it. Sounds kinda clunky for that. I bought mine in 1998, and my Epiphone Thunderbird and Fender Precision have been collecting dust ever since! Truth be told, I recently SOLD my Fender because I never played it anymore.
    Overall:
    **********10 out of 10
    Features:
    **********10 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********10 out of 10
    Value:
    **********10 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********10 out of 10
    Ease of Use:
    **********10 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    **********10 out of 10

    67% of users found this reviews helpful (3 votes).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.
    By a customer from bellsouth.net

    Submitted: 4/7/2008

    Style of Music: rock and blues

    Experience: im an"active musician" but i do play my 320 a lot too

    "i easpecially like the piano like tone"

    Sound:
    i have played the same ric for thirty years and owned all other types including gibson a fender but i always go back to my ridkenbacker!!!!
    Feature:
    the tone is outstanding, i ve never had a single problem out of it!
    Ease of Use:
    it s just a basic set up you should figure it out right off
    Quality:
    with 30 years the only thing,,the only work i ve ever done is to remove the pickguuard on my old ric is a chrome pickguard and i ve just broke one string!
    Manufacturer Support:
    i ve never had any problems i ve got a 360 and a 320 too no problems there either
    Value:
    well i bought mine new 30 years ago,, but would like a new one,, just a different color
    The Wow Factor:
    i like it because of the "piano" type bass sound
    Overall:
    i just want another color one
    Overall:
    **********10 out of 10
    Features:
    **********10 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********10 out of 10
    Value:
    **********10 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********10 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********10 out of 10

    75% of users found this reviews helpful (4 votes).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.

    Submitted: 3/5/2004

    Style of Music: rock

    "Rickenbacker bass"

    Sound:
    This instrument compares to no other in sound. The deep rich tones and the long lasting sustain make this the best sounding instrument I have ever played.
    Quality:
    Not a thing wrong with the body.
    Manufacturer Support:
    Never had to use them.
    Value:
    The product was worth every dime I paid for it.
    Overall:
    The only way I would replace this product is if I were to have it stolen. This bass is one of the most comfortable instruments I have ever played. Words cannot describe it. You must simply play one and find out for yourself.
    Overall:
    **********9 out of 10
    Features:
    **********9 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********10 out of 10
    Value:
    **********7 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********10 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********8 out of 10
    Ease of Use:
    **********7 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    **********8 out of 10

    75% of users found this reviews helpful (4 votes).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.

    Submitted: 1/11/2008

    Style of Music: country punk rock sea shanties

    Experience: hobbyist in band

    "Sexy blonde with attitude."

    Sound:
    I bought mine this year and it seems to buzz loudly due to the single coil pickups. Tone is great though.
    Feature:
    Great accessories. Difficult to mute strings with horseshoe piece in place but it has an automatic mute control via foam pad. Raise the pad until it touches the base of the strings to get that unique sound. takes some practicw to get used to it.
    Ease of Use:
    I'm still working on it.
    Quality:
    Perfect
    Manufacturer Support:
    They talked to me while I was waiting for the product. and waiting....
    Value:
    You're paying for tons of style and history. The sounds can be obtained for cheaper elsewhere.
    The Wow Factor:
    I love it. Lots of appeal.
    Overall:
    like sex appeal. don't like buzzing.
    Overall:
    **********10 out of 10
    Features:
    **********10 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********10 out of 10
    Value:
    **********10 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********10 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********10 out of 10
    Ease of Use:
    **********10 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    **********10 out of 10

    67% of users found this reviews helpful (3 votes).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.
    By a customer from bellsouth.net

    Submitted: 5/23/2008

    Style of Music: blues and rock

    Experience: professional musician and dealer

    "great bass and guitars"

    Sound:
    it already is as close to perfect as it gets
    Feature:
    excellent
    Ease of Use:
    have owned every model of bass and guitar and they were all perfect
    Quality:
    just use good strings to keep that piano tone!
    Manufacturer Support:
    none
    Value:
    there going up in value
    The Wow Factor:
    i never thought about sex appeal just tone
    Overall:
    well i ve got 63 and a 76 and brand new one but i like the oldest the best
    Overall:
    **********10 out of 10
    Features:
    **********10 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********10 out of 10
    Value:
    **********10 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********10 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********10 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    **********10 out of 10

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.
    By a customer from hotmail.com

    Submitted: 6/12/2003

    Style of Music: Blues, rock, country, any thing really.

    "Rics are the best sounding, playing and most versatile basses out there."

    Sound:
    These are the most expressive and versatile basses made today. I own 6 and wouldn't play another kind, the quality is top notch, and the gamut of sounds you can get out of this bass are such, that I do not feel the need to buy any other brands. I have been playing for 37 years and have tried all the good basses, and have owned quite a few also. These basses also sound great with flatwound strings.
    Overall:
    **********10 out of 10
    Features:
    **********8 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********10 out of 10
    Value:
    **********10 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********10 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********10 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    **********9 out of 10

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.
    By a customer from aol.com

    Submitted: 5/16/2003

    Style of Music: Hard Rock, punk rock swing

    "Great all around bass."

    Sound:
    A nice bass sound. Full and smooth with a nice grumbling punch.
    Feature:
    Nice features with beautiful looks. Nice pick-ups but some of the Volume/Tone Knobs are shaky.
    Quality:
    Although some knobs are shakey...everything else is all beef...Solid body and neck with double truss rods...it's built in America, for America, by Americans, for Americans.
    Manufacturer Support:
    Covered by nice warranties makes the owner feel comfortable about thier beautiful.
    Value:
    It was worth every penny.
    The Wow Factor:
    The nicest looking bass i've ever seen.
    Overall:
    This bass keeps me happy and will for some time.
    Overall:
    **********10 out of 10
    Features:
    **********10 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********10 out of 10
    Value:
    **********10 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********10 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********10 out of 10

    75% of users found this reviews helpful (4 votes).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.
    By a customer from hotmail.com

    Submitted: 2/15/2004

    Style of Music: Rock

    "Rickenbacker:The best Bass money can buy"

    Sound:
    Could't be better. If anyone has any complaints about about it they should be thrown out into the street and shot.
    Quality:
    Nobody makes a better Bass. Rickenbacker Basses have the best look, the best sound and deffinetly the best quality.
    Value:
    Rickenbackers hold their value better then anything on the market. especialy the discontinued models.
    Overall:
    Rickenbacker is the Unicorn of guitars. It's the best and most expensive guitar on the market, but it's worth your wile. Their hard as hell to get your hands on but once you do youl never want let go. The best Bass players in RocknRoll uise Rickenbackers. Geddy Lee from Rush, Squire from YES, and the Beatles as well. That has to tell you something
    Overall:
    **********10 out of 10
    Features:
    **********9 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********10 out of 10
    Value:
    **********8 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********10 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********10 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    **********9 out of 10

    50% of users found this reviews helpful (2 votes).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.
    By a customer from ntlworld.com

    Submitted: 4/14/2004

    Style of Music: Progressive rock

    "Rickenbacker for president!"

    Sound:
    The sound of the classic 4001/4003 bass is utterly unique.Difficult to define accurately in words: a ground-shaking bottom end from the neck p/up, but more importantly the signiture metallic rasp/growl from the bridge p/up, guaranteed to cut through any mix... and a fantastic neck to bring out the best in YOU! Listen to Geddy Lee and Chris Squire and then do it yourself! you'll fall in love!Have a good valve amp to hand, turn all the guitar's own pots up to max, dial in a tiny amount of compression. put it through a "clean" channel and the master up as far as your band/neighbours will tolerate. This thing will soar and you will have an uplifting experience that will threaten to put all the local therapists and'shrinks out of buisiness!
    Feature:
    The basses are beautifiul,in both construction and appearance. they serve their purpose just as well as a work of art as an instrument! just look at the finish of the body/neck in good light, it's superb, and will hold your eye. touch it and feel how well the curves and surfaces meld into a whole....Ooooh this is getting a bit sensual!! Seriously tho' it's a real product of care and good component use; the factory obviously have pride in their hand made machines. another nice touch is that they are almost all very slightly different, showing the inputs of individual craftsmen. A nice blue velvet lined day-case (not shipping-heavy-duty) and a quaint little owners book complete the "unwrapping" experience.
    Quality:
    Just pick it up and find out! I have three: a natural (Mapleglo) 1979, A Fireglo 1978 and a Jetglo 2001 and they are all different! but they all feel like they are extensions of me. The '78 has a few dings and scratches but still plays like a dream, the only quality control aspect is the tuners are a bit worn now, so might replace with new sometime (or Grover heavies if you can find them-on my '79 they look great). I actually think that these beasts do get BETTER with age! I hear from some folk that the older ones (very thin necks) don't like heavier guage string sets...check with the factory
    Manufacturer Support:
    They're great! The factory/customer dept seems to be run by enthusiasts..They obviously take great pride in their product. I've never wanted to "upgrade" my Ricks (other than a set of Grover keys) and I never had a warranty issue.
    Value:
    A bit pricey here in Britain...I look at the American dealer prices with jealousy, but I'm too cautious to have one shipped
    The Wow Factor:
    I think I got onto this before! The bass is visual poetry. I line my three up and stare for ages....I know! sad but true. my poor old Precision doesn't get a look in. If you go into a shop and find a 4001 only pick it up if your wallet is feeling lucky!
    Overall:
    There is much said about Ricky's being a "love or hate" taste. Frankly, I can't see why anyone in their right minds would not want one NOW. This will be a part of you life, and I am certain it will expand your playing styles and ability( the only negative bit here is the silly neck p/up cover but you can take it off). Dig out your old Yes and Rush lps and marvel at that sound!...or The Jam....or The Beatles...or 10cc....or Spocks beard...or Starcastle....or Outcast....or The Bee Gees...or Eddie and the Hot Rods...or!!!Ricky's are everywhere
    Overall:
    **********10 out of 10
    Features:
    **********10 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********10 out of 10
    Value:
    **********10 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********10 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********10 out of 10

    67% of users found this reviews helpful (3 votes).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.

    Submitted: 8/19/2003

    Style of Music: Rock, Blues, and Jazz

    "Ric 4003. It just don't get any better."

    Sound:
    Awesome Bass, and fantastic Treble.
    Feature:
    Independent controls and the three way toggle switch are the perfect configuration
    Quality:
    10+ years old, and never a problem, except for the chip on the headstock (thanks Mark).
    Manufacturer Support:
    N/A
    Value:
    I am confident I could sell it for the same price I bought it at ten years ago. It would go quick!
    The Wow Factor:
    Every thing about it is sexy.
    Overall:
    I will play this bass until one of us dies. (I hope it goes first, but it is aging much better than I)
    Overall:
    **********10 out of 10
    Features:
    **********10 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********9 out of 10
    Value:
    **********7 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********10 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********10 out of 10

    50% of users found this reviews helpful (2 votes).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.
    By a customer from ntlworld.com

    Submitted: 6/5/2004

    Style of Music: prog rock

    "A perfect musical instrument"

    Sound:
    this bass can produce sounds that others only dream about! It is quite simply a legend with just cause! Imagine being able to easily play the strings of a concert grand piano. this is the basis of the Ricky with round wound strings!Use it with a decent valve amp and every time you play will make you smile!
    Feature:
    It has versatile passive tone control that will give you McCartney to Squire in a twist!It also has fittings that are unique. no other bass looks like this.
    Quality:
    I have three, and they are all fit and well! a78, a79, and an01. if there is any criticism, it's the machines on the '78...old Schallers which slip a bit. I put Grovers on the '79. the'01jetglo is absolutely astonishing! the finish is beautiful and the Schallers even have Ricky written on them
    Manufacturer Support:
    never needed to have company support. I had the '79 refretted in Denmark Street, London. the company web site is fun and funky like you'd expect an excentric firm to be.
    Value:
    very expensive in England!!!!
    The Wow Factor:
    these instruments are simply iconic. the great players of rock have them. just holding mine makes me happy. it is the most beautiful bass you can get. I encourage you to have one EVEN IF YOU DONT PLAY!.....but you will....
    Overall:
    I just want to collect MORE. They're with me for life
    Overall:
    **********10 out of 10
    Features:
    **********10 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********10 out of 10
    Value:
    **********6 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********10 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********10 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    **********8 out of 10

    80% of users found this reviews helpful (5 votes).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.

    Submitted: 6/21/2005

    "DAMN RIGHT"

    Sound:
    Very Beautiful Tone
    Feature:
    The Sound is so good that the knobs only make sound tweak minor and thats great
    Quality:
    The name is just as beautiful as the sound
    Manufacturer Support:
    Hard to find parts sometimes
    Value:
    too much
    The Wow Factor:
    cant live with out it
    Overall:
    i will never look for another product in bass guitar ever
    Overall:
    **********10 out of 10
    Features:
    **********10 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********10 out of 10
    Value:
    **********10 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********10 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********10 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    **********10 out of 10

    67% of users found this reviews helpful (6 votes).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.
    By a customer from hotmail.com

    Submitted: 5/21/2005

    Style of Music: rock

    Experience: hobbyist

    "this bass is great"

    Sound:
    none
    Feature:
    great
    Quality:
    15 years
    Manufacturer Support:
    no good
    Value:
    yes
    The Wow Factor:
    its beautiful
    Overall:
    the sound and shape, nothing
    Overall:
    **********10 out of 10
    Features:
    **********9 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********10 out of 10
    Value:
    **********10 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********10 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********10 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    **********10 out of 10

    60% of users found this reviews helpful (5 votes).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.
    By a customer from adelphia.net

    Submitted: 6/7/2004

    Style of Music: Rock,metal,jazz,and anything with a good bass line.

    "Do you want the best bass ever."

    This reviewer purchased this item from Same Day Music.

    Sound:
    It is the best bass in production today. With its sustain ringing and great neck there is no reason why you wouldn't want it. Some say the looks are ugly but i like them. Best bass ever.
    Feature:
    IT came with itself and a lovely hardshell. I know i don't own onw but my friend does.
    Quality:
    I dont think you would ever have to replace anything on it unless your extremely unprotective of it.
    Manufacturer Support:
    ive never needed anything so i rate this catagory a 10.
    Value:
    It's really worth more you get a real steal thanks to companies like same day music.
    The Wow Factor:
    This is a bass that when your playing you look like a sex god.
    Overall:
    Forever i would never give it up.
    Overall:
    **********10 out of 10
    Features:
    **********9 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********10 out of 10
    Value:
    **********9 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********10 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********10 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    **********10 out of 10

    50% of users found this reviews helpful (4 votes).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.
    By a customer from hotmail.com

    Submitted: 1/16/2004

    Style of Music: Hardcore, Punk, Good 'Ol Rock 'n' Roll

    "Bend at the knee and pick up the last bass you will ever buy."

    This reviewer purchased this item from Same Day Music.

    Sound:
    The fullest, fattest sound from any bass out there. Heavy, booming lows with crystal clear mid-high.
    Feature:
    Premium electronics. Excellent resonance Wish for a hollow body, This suckers heavy!
    Quality:
    Lifetime guarantee from Ric. Break it, sent it in and get a new one.
    Manufacturer Support:
    See above.
    Value:
    Spendy, but worth every penny. You get what you pay for.
    The Wow Factor:
    Rockabilly style, classic lines and hardcore sound.
    Overall:
    Nothing compares to a Ric!
    Overall:
    **********10 out of 10
    Features:
    **********10 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********10 out of 10
    Value:
    **********10 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********10 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********10 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    **********10 out of 10

    50% of users found this reviews helpful (4 votes).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.
    By a customer from yahoo.com

    Submitted: 3/18/2005

    Experience: garage band

    "ITS a damn good bass!!!!"

    Sound:
    The sound is awesome.It kicks A$$
    Feature:
    The features are the best.ecspecially the gig bag. it has alot of room
    Quality:
    Its an awesome good bass.ITS A RICKENBACKER!
    Manufacturer Support:
    IT ROCKS
    Value:
    it is like buying a porsche for $10
    The Wow Factor:
    I begged my dad for 2 weeks until he gave in thanks to my bro
    Overall:
    Its like being adam claton but your not
    Overall:
    **********9 out of 10
    Features:
    **********6 out of 10
    Value:
    **********9 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********10 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********9 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    **********8 out of 10

    67% of users found this reviews helpful (3 votes).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.

    Submitted: 7/19/2003

    "Greatest bass Ever!"

    Sound:
    Simply the most amazing bass I have ever layed my hands on. Great style, silky smooth action and Phenomenal sound. As a avid fan of thrash and heavy metal I could'nt recommend it enough. However, it also shows great diversity in tone, so can be used for virtually any style.
    Quality:
    Meticulously constructed. A great value!
    Overall:
    **********7 out of 10
    Features:
    **********8 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********4 out of 10
    Value:
    **********7 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********9 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********8 out of 10
    Ease of Use:
    **********8 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    **********2 out of 10

    82% of users found this reviews helpful (17 votes).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.
    By a customer from hotmail.com

    Submitted: 1/12/2007

    Style of Music: rock, blues

    Experience: active musician

    "Try it before you buy it!"

    This reviewer purchased this item from Same Day Music.

    Sound:
    good classic sound...
    Feature:
    it has a vintage/normal switch, which switchs between the normal sound of the brigde pickup and a vintage sound... cool and usefull feature..
    Ease of Use:
    great bass it is easy and fast.. the neck is really nice..
    Quality:
    the bass is really well crafted, and the finish is great... but the electronic is really bad.. when I received the bass both pickups didn't work as they should, the output of the E string was much lower than the other strings, which almost make it impossible to play with a band.... so both pickups needed to be replaced... at a cost of 200 dollars as the warranty didn't cover it. on a brand new instrument! that is not accepteble!
    Manufacturer Support:
    the support is not good, I wrote three emails to rickenbacker before I got a response.. and the response was not a complete answer on my complaint... they just say that the warranty didn't cover...
    Value:
    a instrument that cost 1300 dollars should not have any flaws or defects... so that is not every good...
    The Wow Factor:
    even with the defects you can't say that the bass is cool is has tons of sex appeal!
    Overall:
    a cool bass guitar! but beware of defects! and try it several times before you buy it, check for defects in the electronic! otherwise it is a really cool bass!
    Overall:
    **********10 out of 10
    Features:
    **********10 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********9 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********10 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********10 out of 10

    25% of users found this reviews helpful (4 votes).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.

    Submitted: 4/19/2004

    Rickenbacker 4003 Electric Bass (with Case) Customer Review

    Sound:
    I could feel it when Iam playing the bass guitar, it is like nobody can stop me. The sound of each chord opens my heart like never before.
    Feature:
    The most useful accessories is the guitar pick because I cant really play with my fingers. I go faster and smoother the guitar pick.
    Manufacturer Support:
    I never tried to call the company but I bet it must be good.
    The Wow Factor:
    I want it really wnt it that I could feel the music in my heart.
    Overall:
    **********10 out of 10
    Features:
    **********10 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********10 out of 10
    Value:
    **********9 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********10 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********10 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    **********10 out of 10

    60% of users found this reviews helpful (5 votes).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.
    By a customer from yahoo.com

    Submitted: 1/11/2005

    Style of Music: Jazz, rock, funk

    Experience: Professsional musician, head orchestra upright bassist, jazz band, rock band

    "When I got my 4003, I played it for 12 hours straight..."

    Sound:
    One of a kind sound. Only a Ric can make that classic noise. Best sounding slap bass guitar you can buy!!! The unique classic tone is unmistakable! Very excellent sounding bass. Once you hear it, you will understand the meaning of life....to have this bass.
    Feature:
    The Ric-O-Sound is a sweet feature. The pickup guard is a really nice accessory to add to the looks of the guitar, but it really just gets in the way. The extremely awesome treble punch is superb. Very well built instruments.
    Quality:
    Absolute top notch quality. I have noticed though that Rics get a little wear at the top near the tuning pegs. I think it adds character, personally.
    Manufacturer Support:
    I have never contacted the company personally, but I know people who have and they say it's excellent.
    Value:
    The price of the instrument could be lower, but for what you pay, the bass plays 5x that in quality. If you do have the money, I recomend you buy one.
    The Wow Factor:
    Sexiest bass in existance!!!!
    Overall:
    I will always be satisfied to the fullest with my Ric and no other bass guitar comes close the quality and sound of this instrument.
    Overall:
    **********9 out of 10
    Features:
    **********10 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********7 out of 10
    Value:
    **********9 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********10 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********8 out of 10

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.

    Submitted: 12/27/2004

    Rickenbacker 4003 Electric Bass (with Case) Customer Review

    Sound:
    I love the sound but you just cant slap or pop with this bass
    Feature:
    great pickups great look
    Value:
    could be cheaper
    Overall:
    **********10 out of 10
    Features:
    **********9 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********10 out of 10
    Value:
    **********8 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********10 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********10 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    **********9 out of 10

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.

    Submitted: 11/10/2004

    Rickenbacker 4003 Electric Bass (with Case) Customer Review

    Sound:
    if i ever get a new bass after my musicman... it'd be a rickenbacker. The sound of it gives me rockgasm...
    Overall:
    **********10 out of 10
    Features:
    **********9 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********10 out of 10
    Value:
    **********10 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********10 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********9 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    **********10 out of 10

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.

    Submitted: 8/20/2004

    Rickenbacker 4003 Electric Bass (with Case) Customer Review

    Value:
    great value and realy cheap
    The Wow Factor:
    im about to buy one im jsut saving up
    Overall:
    **********1 out of 10
    Features:
    **********1 out of 10
    Value:
    **********1 out of 10
    The Wow Factor:
    **********1 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********1 out of 10
    Ease of Use:
    **********3 out of 10
    Manufacturer Support:
    **********2 out of 10

    24% of users found this reviews helpful (25 votes).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.

    Submitted: 6/4/2006

    "bad quality bass"

    Sound:
    bad sound crackly and unclean
    Feature:
    not all features worked and warenty wouldnt cover it.
    Ease of Use:
    the neck was bent and difficult to use.
    Quality:
    it is a rubbish bass it has fallen apart after just a week of ownership. I am very anoyed.
    Manufacturer Support:
    the support was good when buying item but when i tried to claim the defaults on the warenty nobody would listen to me.
    Value:
    awful value for money
    The Wow Factor:
    i did really want it but know i wont ever think about getting it again.
    Overall:
    i have been robbed of my money un fairly teated. lied to and worst of all i have not been given the rights as a custermer that i deserve
    Overall:
    **********10 out of 10
    Quality:
    **********10 out of 10
    Sound:
    **********10 out of 10
    Ease of Use:
    **********9 out of 10

    100% of users found this reviews helpful (9 votes).

    Was this review helpful to you?

    Thanks for your vote. Can you specify what about this review did or did not help you?

    We appreciate your feedback. It will help us organize user reviews more effectively.

    Submitted: 3/14/2006

    "BUY THIS BASS"

    Sound:
    nothing could sound better i have played with a lot of basses Rickenbacker 4003 is the best i have played with so far
    Ease of Use:
    it is very easy to change the sound from the hard hitting bass to the singing sustain
    Quality:
    it' on of the greatest bass i have ever played with and can take years of playing
    Overall:
    i love this bass expecially with a bass wah it sounds incredible this is really a great bass and i recomend it to any one of any skill level
    Recently Viewed:
    Your Interests:
    See Products That Ship to You
    Viewing products that ship to United States
     

    Copyright ©2014. This site is protected by copyright. There are terms for its use. Send us Feedback on our site and your experiences. Our descriptions, pictures, and prices are mostly accurate, but cannot be guaranteed. Cookies should be enabled in your web browser for full site functionality (details).